Although the city of Luxembourg occupies a prominent place in the Grand Duchy, from a point of view of economic and political life, the capital, however, is also surrounded by a great number of various municipalities where to live or to go out, and are worth a visit.

Municipalities in Luxembourg are administrative entities made up of one or more towns or villages. They are autonomous juridictions, governed by a mayor (bourgmestre) and 2 concils (conseil échevinal and municipal) elected for 6 years by their constituents.

The most important municipalities in Luxembourg

The City of Luxembourg is the capital of Luxembourg and the largest city with 116,328 inhabitants at the end of 2017, of which 70% are foreigners. 167 different nationalities live side by side in the different districts of Luxembourg in which nearly 20% of Luxembourg’s total population lives. You can discover the 24 neighborhoods here.

Then second biggest town in the country is Esch-sur-Alzette which counts more than 35,000 inhabitants on january 2018 and 111 different nationalities, then Differdange with more than 27,000 inhabitants and Dudelange (20,869) all located in the south of the country.

The towns of Pétange (18,688), Sanem (11,003), Bettembourg (10,750) also in the southern region and Hespérange (10,287) in the central region, represent more than 10,000 inhabitants each.

See geography of Luxembourg.

Municipalities near Luxembourg-City

Several municipalities in the immediate vicinity of Luxembourg City are a good compromise to live with an offer of housing at prices more interesting than the city, even if those are growing in the last years. Well served by public transport, they offer all commodities like nurseries and Maisons Relais,  primary schools for your children,  sport or cultural activities.

Here we present the adjoining municipalities of the city of Luxembourg. Each commune is often made up of several villages. There are 102 municipalities in Luxembourg.