• French
  • English
Select Page

School vacation and bank holidays 2019, 2020 and 2021

School calendar in Luxembourg

Here are the official vacation dates for the 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 school years.

School year 2019-2020

This school year run from Monday 16 September 2019 to Wednesday 15 July 2020 for Luxembourg fundamental schools and lycées

  • the All Saints holidays begins on Saturday 26 October 2019 and ends on Sunday 3 November 2019. The classes of the primary schools will also not have school on Friday, December 6, 2019, St. Nicholas day.
  • the Christmas holidays begin on Saturday, December 21, 2019 and end on Sunday, January 5, 2020
  • the Carnival break begins on Saturday, February 15, 2020 and ends on Sunday, February 23, 2020
  • Easter holidays begin on Saturday, April 4, 2020 and end on Sunday, April 19, 2020
  • the Pentecost holiday begins on Saturday, May 30, 2020 and ends on Sunday, June 7, 2020
  • the Summer holidays begin on Thursday 16 July 2020 and end on Monday 14 September 2020.

For international or private schools in Luxembourg, refer to the calendar provided by your school.

Are you looking for ideas to keep your children entertained during the holidays? Here are a few ideas.

Scouts and other guides also organize summer camps. To do so, you need to register your children at the beginning of the school year.

School year 2020-2021

And for those who are in need of holidays and a change of scenery 😉 who already want to plan their holidays for next year, here are the dates of the school holidays for the year 2020-2021

The new school year will begin on Tuesday, September 15, 2020. The school year will end on Thursday, July 15, 2021.

  • The All Saints’ Day holidays will begin on Saturday, October 31, 2020 and will end on Sunday, November 8, 2020
  • The Christmas holidays will begin on Saturday, December 19, 2020 and end on Sunday, January 3, 2021
  • Carnival holidays will begin on Saturday, February 13, 2021 and end on Sunday, February 21, 2021
  • Easter vacation will begin on Saturday, April 3, 2021. It will last until Sunday, April 18, 2021
  • The Pentecost holiday will begin on Saturday, May 22, 2021 and end on Sunday, May 30, 2021
  • Children will be on summer vacation on Friday, July 16, 2021. The summer holidays will end on Tuesday, September 14, 2021.

Main feasts and celebrations, bank holidays 2020 in Luxembourg

Luxembourg is a country that can keep its traditions alive and celebrate traditional events in a festive and popular way. These traditional festivals are widely attended by the local resident population and give rise to lively and festive celebrations.

Celebrations come often from the Catholic religious tradition of the country but not only, or festive events in the towns and villages of Luxembourg. These traditional festivities are widely followed by the local resident population and in most cases give rise to public holidays.

Statutory holidays

New Year EveJanuary, 1st
Easter Monday (see Easter traditions) April 13, 2020
Labor DayMay, 1st
Europe DayMay, 9th
Ascension Day (see Pilgrimage of Notre-Dame de Fatima, attended by portuguese community in Luxembourg)May 21, 2020
Whit Monday (see pilgrimage in Echternach and its dancing procession)June 1, 2020
Luxembourg National DayJune, 23rd
AssumptionAugust, 15th
All Saints’ DayNovember, 1st
Christmas (see Christmas Markets)December, 25th
Saint EtienneDecember, 26th

Usual holidays

With traditions still very present in Luxembourg, the practice still knows some local festivals or festivals of use. These days are not necessarily granted by the employer to his staff. This one remains thus free to decide if the employees are or not exempted from work on those days.

Carnival dayMarch, 4th
 Easter Good FridayApril, 19th
On feast daySeptember, 2nd
All Souls’ DayNovember, 2nd

Check the annual calendar of festivals and other events not to be missed in Luxembourg.

The multiplicity of cultures in Luxembourg makes these celebrations and other meetings all the more interesting and friendly as they allow people of various nationalities to get to know each other and to exchange around local dishes such as grilled sausages or potato galettes, to savour with local beer or Crémant.