In Luxembourg, legislation and the tax framework encourage the provision of benefits in kind to company employees.

Benefits in kind can take a variety of forms: company housing, company car, meal vouchers, etc. The most common forms on the Luxembourg labor market are described below.

Benefits in kind: a plus for employee loyalty

Compensation and benefits in kind

Benefits in kind are a significant addition to an employee's overall compensation package. They supplement the salary received by the employee at the end of the month. They must therefore be declared to the tax authorities as part of overall income.

In a dynamic job market, these bonuses help human resources to attract new talent. Offered when a new employee is hired, they can also be offered to existing employees to encourage them to stay with the company.

Benefits in kind as a percentage of total compensation in Luxembourg

According to the latest STATEC statistics, 26% of employees in Luxembourg receive benefits in kind. However, the weight of this type of remuneration remains marginal (less than 2%) of total remuneration.

18% have meal vouchers or a company canteen. 8% would benefit from a company car. 5% would be reimbursed for the cost of transport or would have access to job-related parking. However, given the price of parking today, this benefit in kind would be reserved for top management.

However, the monetary value of these benefits in kind represents less than 2% of total compensation.

Salary packages, legal and tax framework in Luxembourg

In Luxembourg, benefits in kind form part of the overall salary package. Employer and future employee agree on this package during the salary negotiation phase: gross fixed monthly salary + variable part paid in the form of bonuses + other benefits in kind. Reimbursements of business expenses are not considered benefits in kind. 

Benefits in kind supplement the monthly salary. They must be expressly specified in the employment contract. Even if they are offered free of charge to the employee, benefits in kind must be valued at the price at which the employee could acquire them privately.

Benefits in kind are subject to the same social security contributions as wages, and are deducted from gross wages.

They must also be declared to the tax authorities by the beneficiary in the same way as the salary.

In the event of termination of the employment contract and during the notice period, the employee retains his or her salary and benefits in kind. On the other hand, if the notice period is not served, the employee cannot claim to keep certain types of benefits without the employer's agreement.

Want to know more about taxation in Luxembourg? Click here for an overview.

What are the benefits in kind in Luxembourg?

Depending on the type of industry, the benefits-in-kind offered vary widely. 

Benefits in kind by business sector and profession

Some sectors are more favorable than others to benefits in kind in Luxembourg. 

Thus, 44% of employees in the financial, real estate, scientific, technical and administrative sectors enjoy benefits in kind. By contrast, only 28% of employees in the service, wholesale and repair, transport and warehousing, accommodation and catering, information and communication sectors enjoy benefits in kind.

Meal vouchers and access to the company canteen are the most widespread benefits, whatever the sector of activity. The use of a company car for private purposes is also widespread. In the industrial and construction sectors, the 1st benefit is the provision of a vehicle.

On the other hand, itinerant sales staff have easier access to a company or service vehicle, because they have to visit their customers.

Benefits in kind related to employee meals

Company restaurants

Some companies offer their employees the possibility of eating in the company restaurant. In this case, the tax value applied is around 2.80 euros per meal.

Valuation of meal vouchers and luncheon vouchers

In the absence of a canteen, companies can provide their employees with meal vouchers. These are used by the employee to pay for meals in catering establishments outside the company that accept this type of payment. Meal vouchers are personal and must mention the employer. They can be used in restaurants, but also in stores to buy food.

Meal and tax benefits

Employees with meal vouchers or tickets-restaurant also contribute 2.80 euros per meal voucher. The face value can be up to 15 euros. The difference between the amount of the voucher (up to 10.80 euros to benefit from the maximum exemption) and the employee's contribution is exempt from tax and social security contributions for the employee.

Provision of a company car

The provision of a vehicle for the employee's professional and private needs is a significant benefit in kind. This provision is mainly offered to executives and sales staff.

Company car and service car

A company car is only used for business travel. It does not constitute a benefit in kind. However, the vehicle must be parked on company premises outside working hours.

On the other hand, the use of a company car for commuting purposes triggers the notion of benefit in kind.

Increasingly, companies are making these vehicles available through a leasing solution that includes vehicle financing, car insurance, vehicle maintenance, tires, etc. Some companies also cover the cost of fuel.

The conditions under which a vehicle is made available vary from company to company. This point is negotiated directly between employer and employee.

Company cars and taxation

Employees using a company car for private purposes are taxed on a monthly basis. The value retained is a percentage of the price, including VAT, of the new vehicle. This percentage is calculated according to the vehicle's CO2 emission category (between 0.8% and 1.8%), and the type of fuel consumed.

Professional parking spaces

Another vehicle-related benefit in kind is the provision of a parking space on the company premises or in the immediate vicinity of the workplace. While the cost of daily parking puts a serious strain on the monthly budget, having a free parking space is an undeniable benefit in kind.

Witness the employees of a shopping center who had to give up their free parking space at the end of 2022. It has to be said that financial investment in parking lots is quite profitable. The price of parking spaces and lock-up garages in Luxembourg is skyrocketing.

More and more, these professional parking spaces are reserved for senior executives.

It seems that over 60% of Luxembourg City residents have a professional parking lot, compared with 55% of non-residents.

Provision of accommodation by the company

The provision of housing by the company is an asset in attracting new expatriate employees.

Only the provision of accommodation for which the lease contract is in the employer's name or which belongs to the employer is considered a benefit in kind. This benefit in kind linked to company housing will be valued on a lump-sum basis based on the rental or unit value provided by the Tax Authorities.
The payment of a housing allowance as a sum of money to the employee to finance all or part of his/her housing costs is not considered a benefit in kind.

When the employer covers all or part of the rental costs for electricity, gas or telecommunications, these costs are added to the total amount of the benefit in kind.

Preferential-rate loans and interest subsidies

Luxembourg banking establishments traditionally offer their employees benefits in kind linked to their activity. For example, employees can borrow at preferential rates or benefit from interest subsidies.

In the 1st case, the employee benefits from property or personal loans at reduced rates, or even interest-free. These benefits are then assessed on a flat-rate basis in the tax return, according to a rate set by law.

In the case of interest subsidies, the employer reimburses the interest on loans taken out on behalf of the employee. Under certain conditions, this benefit in kind is exempt from tax and social security charges.

Supplementary pension plans

Some companies offer their employees supplementary pension plans for their retirement. This second pillar is in addition to the other two pillars of pension contributions.

Under Luxembourg law, companies enjoy considerable flexibility in this area. These supplementary pension plans may benefit all company employees or only a certain category. They cover various themes: retirement, death, disability, etc. Acquired rights are guaranteed up to the employee's retirement age. This applies even in the event of dismissal for serious misconduct.

Employee contributions to these pension plans are tax-deductible up to a maximum of 1,200 euros per year. On leaving the plan, tax exemption applies to benefits paid to Luxembourg residents.

Payment of school fees for employees' children

Some companies, particularly in the case of expatriation packages, pay all or part of the school fees for the employee's children.

The European School I and II, for example, has special agreements with the European Community on behalf of its civil servants, or with certain large local companies.

This may also be the case for other international schools in Luxembourg.

The benefit in kind granted is calculated on the amount of out-of-pocket expenses incurred by the employer.

Company profit-sharing and incentive plans

Profit-sharing plans give employees a direct stake in the company's performance. They build long-term employee loyalty through the allocation of company shares or stock options.

Acquired shares are taxed in the employee's hands when they are transferred. The valuation used is the market value, less any price paid for the shares. A discount is applied to this market price if a blocking period was provided for in the profit-sharing plan.

Find out more about remuneration in Luxembourg by sector of activity and minimum wage levels.

Silver partner

ARENDT Bridging the gap between legal advice and its implementation

Arendt Institute Luxembourg, training for all industries

See

Our events Employment - vocational training


Our latest articles Employment - vocational training


Apply for a summer job Luxembourg

Are you aged between 15 and 27, studying in Luxembourg or abroad? In Luxembourg, you can apply...

Largest employers in Luxembourg

Overview of employment in Luxembourg Luxembourg employed over 517,972 people in the 4th quarter of 2023, residents and cross-border commuters...

Apply for a summer job in Luxembourg

Summer is already well underway in Luxembourg, much to everyone's delight. School vacations are fast approaching...

They trust us

AXA assurances Luxembourg
Raiffeisen Luxembourg
Child king

Les avantages en nature

Avantages en nature Luxembourg

Au Luxembourg, la législation et le cadre fiscal encouragent la mise à disposition d’avantages en nature aux salariés d’entreprise.

Les avantages en nature peuvent peuvent prendre différentes formes : logement de fonction, véhicule de société, titres repas, … Nous détaillons plus bas les formes les plus répandues sur le marché du travail luxembourgeois.

Les avantages en nature, un plus pour fidéliser ses salariés

Rémunération et avantages en nature

Les avantages en nature sont un ajout complémentaire non négligeable dans la rémunération globale du salarié. Ils viennent compléter le salaire que reçoit le salarié en fin de mois. Ils doivent donc être déclarés à l’administration fiscale au niveau des revenus globaux.

Dans un contexte de marché de l’emploi dynamique, ces gratifications permettent aux ressources humaines d’attirer de nouveaux talents. Proposées à l’embauche d’un nouveau salarié, elles peuvent également être offertse à des salariés déjà en poste afin de les inciter à rester dans l’entreprise.

Part des avantages en nature dans la rémunération globale au Luxembourg

Selon les dernières statistiques de la STATEC, 26% des salariés au Luxembourg bénéficient d’avantages en nature. Toutefois, le poids de ce type de rémunération reste marginal (moins de 2%) de la rémunération totale.

18% disposeraient de chèques-repas ou d’une cantine au sein de l’entreprise. 8% bénéficieraient d’une voiture de fonction. 5% seraient défrayés sur le coût des transports ou disposeraient d’un parking lié à leur emploi. Toutefois, compte tenu du prix des parking aujourd’hui, cet avantage en nature serait réservé au top management.

Toutefois, la valeur monétaire de ces avantages en nature représenterait moins de 2% des rémunérations totales.

Package salarial, cadre légal et fiscal au Luxembourg

Au Luxembourg, les avantages en nature font partie du package salarial globale. Employeur et futur salarié se mettent d’accord sur ce package lors de la phase de négociation de la rémunération globale  : salaire fixe brut mensuel + part variable versée sous forme de bonus  + autres avantages en nature. Les remboursements de frais professionnels ne sont pas considérés comme des avantages en nature. 

Les avantages en nature complètent le salaire mensuel. Ils doivent être spécifiés expressément dans le contrat de travail. Même s’ils sont proposés gratuitement au salarié, les avantages en nature doivent être évalués au prix auquel le salarié pourrait les acquérir à titre privé.

Les avantages en nature sont soumis au même titre que le salaire aux cotisations sociales venant en déduction du salaire brut.

Ils doivent être également déclarés aux impôts par le bénéficiaire au même titre que le salaire.

En cas de rupture du contrat de travail et durant la période de préavis, le salarié conserve son salaire et ses avantages en nature. En revanche, si le préavis n’est pas effectué, le salarié ne peut prétendre conserver certains types d’avantages sans accord de l’employeur.

Vous voulez en savoir plus sur la fiscalité au Luxembourg ? Retrouvez ici un aperçu.

Quels sont les avantages en nature au Luxembourg ?

Selon le type d’industrie, les avantages en nature proposés sont très disparates. 

Avantages en nature par secteur d’activité et par métier

Certains secteurs sont plus propices que d’autres aux avantages en nature au Luxembourg. 

Ainsi, 44% des salariés du secteur financier, immobilier, scientifique, technique, administratif profitent d’avantages en nature. En revanche, seuls 28% des salariés des secteurs des services, du commerce en gros et réparations, transport et entreposage, hébergement et restauration, information et communication bénéficient d’avantages en nature.

Aujourd’hui, tous les frontaliers, quel que soit leur secteur d’activité bénéficient de 34 jours de télétravail, sans impact sur leur imposition dans leur pays de résidence.

Avantages en nature liés aux repas du salarié

Les chèques repas et accès à la cantine d’entreprise sont les avantages les plus répandus quel que soit le secteur d’activité. L’utilisation d’un véhicule de société pour les besoins privés est également très répandue. Dans les secteurs de l’industrie et de la construction, le 1er avantage servi est la mise à disposition d’un véhicule.

Restaurants d’entreprise

Certaines entreprises offrent à leurs salariés la possibilité de prendre leurs repas dans le restaurant de l’entreprise. Dans ce cas, la valeur fiscale appliquée est de l’ordre de 2,80 euros par repas.

Valorisation des chèques-repas et tickets restaurants

A défaut de cantine, les entreprises peuvent fournir à leurs employés des chèques repas. Ceux-ci sont utilisés par le salarié pour payer son repas dans les établissements de restauration extérieurs à l’entreprise,  acceptant ce type de moyen de paiement. Les chèques repas sont personnels et doivent mentionner l’employeur. Ils peuvent être utilisés dans les restaurants, mais aussi dans les magasins pour acheter de l’alimentation.

Avantages repas et fiscalité

Les salariés bénéficiant de chèques repas ou tickets-restaurant cotisent également à hauteur de 2,80 euros par titre repas. Sa valeur faciale peut aller jusqu’à 15 euros. La différence entre le montant du chèque (jusqu’à 10,80 euros pour bénéficier de l‘exemption maximum) et la participation de l’employé est exemptée d’impôt et de cotisations sociales pour le salarié.

Mise à disposition d’un véhicule de fonction

La mise à disposition d’un véhicule pour les besoins professionnels et privés du salarié constitue un avantage en nature non négligeable. Cette disposition est essentiellement proposée aux cadres dirigeants ou commerciaux.

Les commerciaux itinérants ont plus facilement accès à un véhicule de fonction ou de service, du fait de l’obligation de se déplacer chez leurs clients.

Voiture de fonction et voiture de service

Une voiture de service n’est utilisée que pour les déplacements professionnels. Elle ne constitue pas un avantage en nature. Le véhicule doit toutefois être garé à l’entreprise en dehors des heures de travail.

En revanche, l’utilisation du véhicule de fonction pour les trajets domicile-travail déclenche la notion d’avantage en nature.

De plus en plus, les entreprises mettent à disposition ces véhicules par le biais d’une solution de leasing incluant le financement du véhicule, les frais d’assurance auto, d’entretien du véhicule, de pneus,… Certaines entreprises prennent également en charge les frais de carburant.

Les conditions de mise à disposition d’un véhicule varient concrètement selon les entreprises. Ce point est négocié directement entre l’employeur et l’employé.

Voitures de fonction et fiscalité

Les salariés bénéficiant d’un véhicule d’entreprise pour leurs besoins privés sont imposés mensuellement. La valeur retenue est un pourcentage du prix TTC dudit véhicule neuf. Ce pourcentage est calculé en fonction de la catégorie d’émission CO2 auquel appartient le véhicule (entre 0,8 et 1,8%), ainsi que du type de carburant consommé.

Places de parking professionnelles

Un autre avantage en nature lié au véhicule est la mise à disposition de place de parking dans l’entreprise ou à proximité immédiate du lieu de travail. Alors que le coût des parkings à la journée vient grever sérieusement le budget mensuel, disposer d’une place de parking gratuite est un avantage en nature indéniable.

Témoins les salariés d’un centre commercial qui ont du fin 2022 renoncer à leur place de parking gratuite. Il faut dire que le placement financier dans des parkings s’avère plutôt rémunérateur. Les prix des emplacements de parking ou de box fermés sur Luxembourg s’envolent.

De plus en plus, ces places de parking professionnel sont réservées aux cadres dirigeants

Il semblerait que les résidents de la ville de Luxembourg disposent à plus de 60% d’un parking professionnel, contre 55% pour les non-résidents de la ville.

Mise à disposition d’un logement par l’entreprise

La mise à disposition d’un logement par l’entreprise est un atout pour attirer de nouveaux salariés expatriés.

Seule la mise à disposition d’un logement dont le contrat de bail est au nom de l’employeur ou lui appartenant est considérée comme avantage en nature. Cet avantage en nature lié au logement de fonction sera évalué forfaitairement sur la base de la valeur locative ou unitaire fournie par l’Administration des Contributions.
Le paiement d’une indemnité logement versée en tant que somme d’argent à l’employé pour financer tout ou partie de ses frais de logement n’est pas considéré comme un avantage en nature.

Lorsque l’employeur prend en charge tout ou partie des frais locatifs de type électricité, gaz ou télécommunications, ces frais sont additionnés au montant global de l’avantage en nature.

Emprunts à taux préférentiel et subvention d’intérêts

Les établissements bancaires luxembourgeois proposent traditionnellement à leurs employés des avantages en nature liés à leur activité. Ceux-ci ont par exemple la possibilité d’emprunter à taux préférentiels ou bénéficient des subventions d’intérêts.

Dans le 1er cas, le salarié bénéficie de prêts immobiliers ou personnels à des taux réduits, voire sans intérêts. Ces avantages sont alors évalués forfaitairement dans la déclaration de revenus selon un taux fixé législativement.

Dans le cas de subventions d’intérêts, l’employeur rembourse en lieu et place du salarié les intérêts de prêts contractés à titre personnel. Une exemption fiscale et de charges sociales s’applique selon certaines conditions sur cet avantage en nature.

Régimes complémentaires de pension

Certaines entreprises font bénéficier à leurs employés de plans de pension complémentaires en vue de leur départ à la retraite. Ce deuxième pilier vient s’ajouter aux deux autres piliers de cotisations retraite.

Les entreprises bénéficient dans le cadre législatif luxembourgeois d’une grande flexibilité en la matière. Ces plans de pension complémentaire peuvent bénéficier à l’ensemble des salariés de l’entreprise ou à une certaine catégorie. Ils couvrent différents thèmes : retraite, décès, invalidité, … Les droits acquis sont garantis jusqu’à l’âge de départ à la retraite du salarié. Ceci, y compris en cas de licenciement pour faute grave.

Les cotisations versés par l’employé dans ces plans de pension sont déductibles fiscalement jusqu’à 1.200 euros annuels. A la sortie du plan, un exonération d’impôt s’applique sur les prestations versées aux résidents luxembourgeois.

Paiement des frais de scolarité des enfants des salariés

Certaines entreprises, entre autres dans le cas de packages d’expatriation prennent en charge tout ou partie de frais de scolarité des enfants du collaborateur.

L’école européenne I et II, notamment, entretient des accords spéciaux avec la Communauté européenne pour le compte de ses fonctionnaires, ou avec certaines grandes entreprises de la place.

Cela peut également être le cas pour d’autres écoles internationales au Luxembourg.

L’avantage en nature octroyé est calculé sur le montant des frais déboursés par l’employeur.

Les plans de participation et d’intéressement aux résultats de l’entreprise

Les plans de participation permettent d’intéresser directement les salariés aux performances de l’entreprise. Ils fidélisent les employés à long terme par l’attribution d’actions de l’entreprise ou de stock-options (options d’achat d’actions à terme).

Les actions acquises sont imposées au salarié lors de leur transfert. La valorisation retenue est la valeur de marché, moins le prix éventuellement payé pour leur acquisition. Une décote s’applique sur ce prix de marché si une période de blocage était prévue dans le plan de participation.

En savoir plus sur les rémunérations au Luxembourg par secteur d’activité et les niveaux de salaires minimum requis.

Partenaire bronze

INFPC et portail lifelong-learning.lu

Voir

Nos événements Emploi - formation professionnelle


Nos derniers articles Emploi - formation professionnelle


Postuler à un job d'été Luxembourg

Vous avez entre 15 et 27 ans, vous étudiez au Luxembourg ou à l’étranger ? Au Luxembourg, vous pouvez postuler...

Plus grands employeurs au Luxembourg

Vue d’ensemble de l’emploi au Luxembourg Le Luxembourg employait plus de 517.972 personnes au 4ème trimestre 2023, résidents et frontaliers...

Postuler à un emploi en été au Luxembourg

L’été est déjà bien présent au Luxembourg pour le plus grand plaisir de tous. Les vacances scolaires approchent  au grand...

Ils nous font confiance

AXA assurances Luxembourg
Raiffeisen Luxembourg
Enfant roi