Esch-sur-Alzette, a wealth of attractions

Esch Belval Luxembourg

Esch-sur-Alzette is the second largest city after the capital Luxembourg. It is located in the south of Luxembourg, very close to the French border. Today, Esch-sur-Alzette is a dynamic and attractive city.

Population of Esch-sur-Alzette

Number of inhabitants on January 1, 202336.625
Number of different nationalities107
% foreigners in total population57%
Source Statec

Esch-sur-Alzette is one of the municipalities with the lowest median wages in Luxembourg. The median wage here is just 3,306 euros, compared with a median wage of 6,659 euros in Niederanven, the commune with the highest salaried income in Luxembourg.

Esch-sur-Alzette, a town with a steelmaking past

Esch-sur-Alzette is located in the south of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, in the center of the Terres Rouges region, of which it is the capital. An iron metropolis, it is the symbol of Luxembourg's steelmaking past.

This industrial history has left its blast furnaces and a predominantly foreign population. Following the steel crisis that also affected the Lorraine region of France, the last blast furnace in Esch-Belval closed in 1997. The Schifflange rolling mill was closed in 2012.

Nevertheless, Esch-sur-Alzette has masterfully reconverted some of these historic sites. Today, the Esch-Belval district magnificently integrates the former blast furnaces at the heart of a very modern, lively and busy district. It's home to numerous businesses, a large Belval-Plaza shopping center, the Rockhal concert and music venue, and the main campus of theUniversity of Luxembourg.

Living in Esch-sur-Alzette, a city of many attractions

The town of Esch-sur-Alzette has all the educational and extra-curricular facilities to make life easier for its residents. Although it has long suffered from a bad reputation, the town of Esch-sur-Alzette is now back in the limelight. 

It has to be said that the redevelopment of brownfield sites is helping to restore interest in Esch after years of crisis in the steel industry.

Shopping in esch-sur-Alzette

The Rue de l'Alzette and the large pedestrian zone are a delight for shoppers, with its many stores, restaurants, bars and market .

Cultural life in Esch-sur-Alzette

Esch also boasts a vibrant cultural life, with the town's theater, the large Kinepolis cinema in Belval, the library and music conservatory, not to mention the Rockhal, one of Luxembourg's finest concert halls.

The Parc du Galgebierg is the venue for the Francofolies music festival every summer. An event not to be missed for 3 days of music in a very pleasant setting.

The city has also been designated "European Capital of Culture" for 2022. To raise its profile as European Capital of Culture, Esch 2022 has presented a "Remix culture" program to create synergies around a common project of sustainable development and strong public involvement.

For this event, multiple events were organized around different themes: music, street arts, dance, design, architecture, nature... They contributed to give a modern and vibrant image to the City of Esch.

Nurseries and schools in Esch-sur-Alzette

Esch-sur-Alzette offers a comprehensive range of schools, including several basic public schools. There are also Luxembourg and international secondary schools for older children.

A number of private crèches and maisons-relais offer parents easy access to childcare. Please note that childcare places are very much in demand in southern Luxembourg, so plan ahead when applying for a place in a crèche or maison-relais.

Sports activities in Esch-sur-Alzette

For the more sporty, the town offers a number of sports facilities, includinga skate park, the Jeunesse d'Esch soccer club (several times Luxembourg champions), the multi-purpose sports center, the Bains Municipaux swimming pool, a shooting range...

The town also boasts a veritable green lung in the form of the Galgebierg Park , where residents can recharge their batteries in summer. In winter, there's a huge natural ice rink.

Public transport in Esch-sur-Alzette

As far as transport is concerned, the city is very well served by freeway, bus and train . An ultra-fast tramway project will link Luxembourg and Esch-sur-Alzette in 26 minutes by 2028. It will be twinned by a bicycle highway, to develop soft mobility.

Hospitals in Esch-sur-Alzette

The town of Esch-sur-Alzette is very well equipped in terms of hospital facilities. These include the Centre Hospitalier Emile Mayrisch, currently undergoing restructuring, and the Centre François Baclesse for cancer treatment.

Property prices in Esch-sur-Alzette

In addition to lower prices than in the capital and surrounding area, Esch-sur-Alzette residents appreciate Esch's amenities, its many activities and the special atmosphere of this southern Luxembourg town.

When it comes to property prices, Esch-sur-Alzette remains a very affordable commune. Compare with real estate prices in Luxembourg

Price per m2 for saleRental price per m2
7,248 euros23.54 euros
Down 2.42% year-on-yearUp 10.36% year-on-year
Center region comparison: 11,286 euros/m2 Center region comparison: 29.34 euros/m2
Source Immotop - October 2023

Find out more about other communes in Luxembourg

LuxembourgNiederanven
BertrangeSandweiler
Esch-sur-AlzetteStrassen
HespérangeWalferdange

Visit Esch-sur-Alzette

Discover Luxembourg's steelmaking past

Luxembourg has a rich industrial past. Its iron mines, now closed, were exploited for almost 100 years in the south of the country. Iron ore contributed to the prosperity of the Grand Duchy, thanks to the mining industry in the Terres Rouges region.

Industrial history of southern Luxembourg

Fond-de-Gras, near Differdange, is a site marked by the numerous iron mines that were exploited from 1870 on wards.The iron ore extracted was then transported to steelworks in Luxembourg and abroad. It was here that Luxembourg's last iron mine closed in 1964.

The first forge was installed in Dommeldange in 1609, not in Esch-sur-Alzette.

Today, you can relive some of this history with a visit to Minett Park. While you're having fun, you'll gain a better understanding of the daily lives of the miners who descended into the underground galleries every day. By harvesting iron ore (Minett in Luxembourgish), they were able to feed their families, sometimes risking their lives in the process.

Visit the Minett Park iron mines by steam train

Today, 2 mining trains still run at Minett Park Fond-de-Gras, thanks to the efforts of volunteers. A true life-size museum , Minett Park presents the history of iron mining in Luxembourg from the late 19th century onwards .

The 1900 steam train will take you along the old Minières railroad line, which transported iron ore between Pétange and Fond-de-Gras (round trip).
The "Train 1900" association's collection includes a dozen carefully restored steam and diesel trains.

To continue the journey back in time and discover the reality of mining, take the "Minièresbunn" mining train along the narrow railway line between the old Fond-de-Gras mine and the workers' village of Lasauvage . The latter is also an exhibition and tourist attraction. Don't forget your pullover!

You can also visit buildings that bear witness to the former industrial activity: the miners' lodgings, the picturesque Victor Binck grocery store, open until 1980, the power station in the Paul Wurth hall, the rolling mill train, the historic café-restaurant "Bei der Giedel", the "hanging room",....

These historic sites and trains are accessible to tourists every Sunday and public holiday from May 1 to September 30.

Minett Park Fond-de-Gras organizes a wide range of events, so be sure to check out their website to find out more before the end of the season!

You can also simply visit the nature park site and follow the various signposted paths on the former "Giele Botter" open-cast mining site.

Every year, the official opening of the season reminds me of a similar tradition in my home country, Poland. On Labor Day, celebrated on May 1, Poland's industrial regions proudly present their steam trains, offering the first journeys after a long winter. It's a very nostalgic memory!

Joanna Gizewska, Poland

National Iron Mining Museum in Rumelange

At the Musée National des Mines de Fer Luxembourgeoises in Rumelange, you'll discover Luxembourg's mining past, from the late 19th century to the 1990s.

Relive the miners' harsh working conditions and the technical evolution of ore extraction, from underground to open-cast mines. Once extracted, the ore was transported to blast furnaces to be transformed into cast iron or steel.

Don't miss a visit to the historic Langengrund iron mine. Access is by small train. On foot, you'll explore the underground galleries and ironworks. The tour lasts 1h30. Helmets are required. Temperatures are between 10 and 12° C, so don't forget your sweater! Former miners accompany the guided tour. Exhibition rooms display various objects from the past, including tools, machines and fossils.

Ask about opening times, as the museum has different opening hours depending on the season.

It's also possible to celebrate birthdays in the museum. Interactive tours are organized for children aged 6 to 14. Children learn about the hard work of miners by pushing wagons, digging or breaking blocks of ore!

Belval and its blast furnaces, witnesses to industrial history

To explore Luxembourg's industrial past even further, don't forget to visit Belval, near Esch-sur-Alzette.

The Belval site is a wonderful showcase for the former industrial site and its blast furnaces. In operation until 1997 for blast furnace B, blast furnaces A and B bear witness to the exploitation of iron ore by the Arbed steel group from 1911 onwards. The transformation of the ore into cast iron and then steel was ensured through successive mergers, with the Arcelia and Usinor groups in 2002, and then in 2006 with Mittal Steel to create Arcelor Mittal.

Today, part of the site has been reconverted to preserve this testimony to the past, thanks to a magnificent renovation and successful integration into a new urban landscape. The Belval site is now home to new companies, including the University and the Cité des Sciences, de la Recherche et de l'Innovation. The former industrial site has become a modern, active city.

The Cité des Sciences and the blast furnaces can be visited, including the Gueulard platform overlooking the entire Belval area and its new districts.

Still operating in another part of the Belval zone, Arcelor Mittal is one of Luxembourg's leading employers.

Want to discover other typical Luxembourg places? Then click here.

Our events General


Our latest articles General


What do I need to know before moving to Luxembourg?

Are you thinking of moving to Luxembourg as an expat? Find all our advice here to help you make the right decision...

Luxembourg, expatriate opinion

At a time when some people are wondering whether to expatriate to Luxembourg, Expat Insider takes another look at...

School vacations Luxembourg

Whether it's a new calendar year or a new school year, it's time to get back to work and back to good habits after the...

They trust us

AXA assurances Luxembourg
Raiffeisen Luxembourg
Child king

Esch-sur-Alzette, de multiples attraits

Esch Belval Luxembourg

Esch-sur-Alzette est la deuxième plus grande ville après la capitale Luxembourg. Elle est située dans le sud du Luxembourg, à proximité immédiate de la frontière française. Elle montre aujourd’hui un réel dynamisme et de nombreux attraits.

Population à Esch-sur-Alzette

Nombre d’habitants au 1er janvier 202336.625
Nombre de nationalités différentes107
% d’étrangers dans la population totale57%
Source Statec

Esch-sur-Alzette figure parmi les communes avec les salaires médians les moins élevés au Luxembourg. Le salaire médian y est de 3.306 euros seulement, contre 6.659 euros de salaire médian à Niederanven, commune avec les revenus salariés les plus élevés au Luxembourg.

Esch-sur-Alzette, ville au passé lié à la sidérurgie

La ville d’Esch-sur-Alzette est située au sud du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg, au centre des Terres Rouges dont elle est la capitale. Métropole du Fer, elle est le symbole du passé sidérurgique du Luxembourg.

De cette histoire industrielle, elle en a gardé les hauts-fourneaux et une population majoritairement étrangère. Suite à la crise sidérurgique ayant touché également la région Lorraine en France, le dernier haut-fourneau de Esch-Belval a fermé ses portes en 1997. Le laminoir de Schifflange a été fermé en 2012.

Néanmoins, Esch-sur-Alzette a su reconvertir magistralement certains de ces sites historiques. Le quartier de Esch-Belval intègre aujourd’hui magnifiquement les anciens hauts fourneaux au cœur d’un quartier très moderne, vivant et très fréquenté. On y trouve de nombreuses entreprises, un grand centre commercial Belval-Plaza, la Rockhal haut lieu de concerts et shows musicaux, et le principal campus de l’Université de Luxembourg.

Habiter Esch-sur-Alzette, ville aux multiples attraits

La ville d’Esch-sur-Alzette dispose de toutes les structures scolaires et extra-scolaires pour faciliter la vie de ses habitants. Même si elle a longtemps souffert d’une mauvaise réputation, la ville de Esch-sur-Alzette retrouve aujourd’hui un regain d’attention. 

Il faut dire que la réhabilitation des friches industrielles contribue à redonner à Esch un intérêt après des années de crise du bassin sidérurgique.

Commerces et shopping à esch-sur-Alzette

La Rue de l’Alzette et la grande zone piétonnière font le bonheur des amateurs de shopping avec ses nombreux magasins, ses restaurants et bars et son marché. 

Vie culturelle à Esch-sur-Alzette

Esch propose également une vie culturelle importante avec le théâtre de la ville, le grand cinéma Kinepolis à Belval, la bibliothèque, le conservatoire de musique, sans parler de la Rockhal, magnifique salle de concert au luxembourg.

Le Parc du Galgebierg est notamment le théâtre du festival de musique des Francofolies tous les étés. Un évènement à ne pas rater pour 3 jours de musique dans un cadre très agréable.

La ville a d’ailleurs été désignée “capitale européenne de la culture” pour 2022. Pour rayonner en tant que Capitale Européenne de la culture, Esch 2022 a présenté un programme “Remix culture” afin de créer des synergies autour d’un même projet commun de développement durable et d’engagement fort du public.

Pour cet évènement, de multiples évènements étaient organisés autour de différents thèmes : musique, arts de la rue, danse, design, architecture, nature… Ils ont contribué à donner une image moderne et vibrante à la Ville d’Esch.

Crèches et écoles à Esch-sur-Alzette

L’offre scolaire est très complète à Esch-sur-Alzette avec plusieurs écoles fondamentales publiques. Les plus grands y trouvent également des lycées d’enseignement secondaire luxembourgeois ou international.

Plusieurs crèches privées et maisons relais permettent aux parents de faire garder leurs enfants facilement. Attention, les places en garderie sont très demandées dans le sud du Luxembourg, donc anticipez votre demande de place en crèche ou en maison-relais.

Activités sportives à Esch-sur-Alzette

Pour les plus sportifs, la ville proposent de nombreuses structures sportives comme le skate park, son club de foot Jeunesse d’Esch, plusieurs fois champion du Luxembourg, le Centre omnisports aux multiples infrastructures, la piscine des Bains Municipaux, un stand de tir…

La ville dispose également d’un véritable poumon vert avec le parc du Galgebierg qui permet à ses habitants de se ressourcer en été. On y trouve notamment une immense patinoire naturelle en hiver.

Transports publics à Esch-sur-Alzette

En ce qui concerne les transports, la ville est très bien desservie par l’autoroute ou par les transports en commun, bus ou train. Un projet de tramway ultra-rapide reliera Luxembourg et Esch-sur-Alzette en 26 minutes en 2028. Il sera doublé par une autoroute à vélo, pour développer la mobilité douce.

Centres hospitaliers à Esch-sur-Alzette

La ville de Esch-sur-Alzette est très bien équipée en structures hospitalières. On y trouve notamment le Centre Hospitalier Emile Mayrisch en phase de restructuration et le Centre François Baclesse pour le traitement des cancers.

Prix de l’immobilier à Esch-sur-Alzette

Outre des prix plus bas par rapport à la capitale et ses environs, les habitants de Esch-sur-Alzette apprécient les commodités de Esch, les multiples activités et l’ambiance si particulière de cette ville du sud du Luxembourg.

En ce qui concerne les prix de l’immobilier, Esch-sur-Alzette reste une commune très abordable. À comparer avec les prix immobiliers sur le Luxembourg 

Prix au m2 à la ventePrix au m2 à la location
7.248 euros23,54 euros
Baisse de 2,42% sur un anHausse de 10,36% sur un an
Comparatif région Centre : 11.286 euros/m2 Comparatif région Centre : 29,34 euros/m2
Source Immotop – octobre 2023

En savoir plus sur d’autres communes du Luxembourg

LuxembourgNiederanven
BertrangeSandweiler
Esch-sur-AlzetteStrassen
HespérangeWalferdange

Visiter Esch-sur-Alzette

Découvrir le passé sidérurgique du Luxembourg

Le Luxembourg a un riche passé industriel. Ses mines de fer, aujourd’hui fermées, ont été exploitées pendant près de 100 ans dans le sud du pays. Le minerai de fer a contribué la prospérité du Grand-Duché, grâce à l’industrie minière dans la région des Terres Rouges.

Histoire industrielle du Sud du Luxembourg

Fond-de-Gras, à proximité de Differdange, est un site marqué par de nombreuses mines de fer exploitées à partir de 1870. Le minerai de fer qui en était extrait, était ensuite acheminé vers les usines sidérurgiques au Luxembourg ou à l’étranger. C’est d’ailleurs ici que la dernière mine de fer du Luxembourg a fermé ses portes en 1964.

Rappelons à ce propos que la première forge a été installée à Dommeldange en 1609, et non pas à Esch-sur-Alzette.

Aujourd’hui, on peut revivre un peu de cette histoire en visitant le Minett Park. Tout en s’amusant, on comprend mieux le quotidien des mineurs qui descendaient chaque jour dans des galeries souterraines. En récoltant le minerai de fer (Minett en luxembourgeois), ils pouvaient ainsi nourrir leur famille, parfois au péril de leur vie.

Visiter les mines de fer du Minett Park en train à vapeur

Aujourd’hui 2 trains miniers circulent encore à Minett Park Fond-de-Gras, grâce à l’action de bénévoles. Véritable musée grandeur nature, le Minett Park présente l’histoire des mines de fer au Luxembourg à partir de la fin du 19ème siècle.

Le train à vapeur d’époque 1900 vous emmènera sur l’ancienne ligne ferroviaire des Minières qui acheminait le minerai de fer. entre Pétange et Fond-de-Gras (aller-retour).
La collection de l’association « Train 1900 » comprend une douzaine de trains à vapeur et diesel, soigneusement restaurés.

Pour poursuivre le voyage dans le temps et mieux découvrir la réalité des mines, vous emprunterez le train minier “Minièresbunn” sur l’étroite ligne de chemin de fer entre l’ancienne mine du Fond-de-Gras et le village ouvrier de Lasauvage. Ce dernier est également un espace d’exposition et d’attraction touristique. N’oubliez pas de prendre un pullover !

Vous pourrez également visiter les bâtiments témoins de l’ancienne activité industrielle : les logements de mineurs, l’épicerie pittoresque Victor Binck, ouverte jusqu’en 1980, la centrale électrique dans le hall Paul Wurth, le train de laminoirs, le café-restaurant historique “Bei der Giedel”, la “salle des pendus”,….

Ces lieux et trains historiques sont accessibles par les touristes chaque dimanche et jour férié du 1er mai au 30 septembre.

De nombreux évènements sont organisés dans le cadre du Minett Park Fond-de-Gras, n’hésitez pas à consulter leur site internet pour découvrir cet endroit avant la fin de la saison !

Vous pouvez également simplement visiter le site du parc naturel et sillonner les différents chemins balisés sur l’ancien site d’exploitation minière à ciel ouvert “Giele Botter”.

Chaque année, l’inauguration officielle de la saison me rappelle une tradition similaire dans mon pays, la Pologne. Lors de la Fête du Travail célébrée le 1er mai, les régions industrielles de Pologne présentent avec fierté leurs trains à vapeur en offrant les premiers voyages après un long hiver. C’est un souvenir très nostalgique!

Joanna Gizewska, Pologne

Musée National des mines de Fer à Rumelange

Vous découvrirez au Musée National des Mines de Fer Luxembourgeoises de Rumelange le passé minier du Luxembourg, depuis la fin du 19ème siècle jusqu’aux années 1990.

Revivez les conditions de travail très difficiles des mineurs et l’évolution technique d’extraction du minerai, dans des mines souterraines puis à ciel ouvert. Une fois extrait, le minerai était ensuite acheminé vers les hauts-fourneaux pour être transformé en fonte ou en acier.

Ne manquez pas la visite d’une mine de fer historique, la galerie Langengrund. On y accède en petit train. Vous parcourerez à pied les galeries souterraines et les chantiers d’extraction du fer. La visite dure 1h30. On est tenu de s’équiper d’un casque sur la tête. Les températures étant de 10 à 12° C, n’oubliez pas la petite laine ! D’anciens mineurs accompagnent la visite guidée. Des salle d’exposition présentent différents objets témoins du passé, dont des outils, des machines,… On y trouve également des fossiles.

Renseignez-vous sur les horaires, le musée a différents horaires selon la saison.

Il est également possible de fêter les anniversaires dans le musée. Des visites interactives sont organisées pour les enfants de 6 à 14 ans. Les enfants apprennent le dur métier des mineurs en poussant des wagonnets, en creusant ou en cassant des blocs de minerai !

Belval et ses hauts-fourneaux, témoins de l’histoire industrielle

Pour aller plus loin dans la découverte du passé industriel du Luxembourg, n’oubliez pas non plus de passer par Belval, près de Esch-sur-Alzette.

Le site de Belval met merveilleusement en valeur l’ancien site industriel et ses hauts fourneaux. En activité jusqu’en 1997 pour le haut-fourneau B, les hauts-fourneaux A et B restent le témoignage de l’exploitation du minerai de fer par le groupe sidérurgique Arbed à partir de 1911. La transformation du minerai en fonte puis en acier a été assurée par le biais de fusions successives, avec les groupes Arcelia et Usinor en 2002, puis en 2006 avec Mittal Steel pour donner Arcelor Mittal

Aujourd’hui, une partie du site a été reconvertie pour garder ce témoignage du passé grâce à une magnifique rénovation et une intégration réussie dans un nouveau paysage urbain. Le site de Belval accueille désormais de nouvelles entreprises dont l’Université, la Cité des Sciences, de la Recherche et de l’Innovation. L’ancien site industriel est devenu une ville moderne et active.

La Cité des Sciences et les Hauts fourneaux peuvent être visités, notamment la plateforme du gueulard qui surplombe toute la zone de Belval et ses nouveaux quartiers.

Toujours en activité, sur une autre partie de la zone de Belval, l’entreprise Arcelor Mittal est aujourd’hui un des premiers employeurs du Luxembourg.

Vous voulez découvrir d’autres endroits typiques du Luxembourg ? Cliquez ici.

Nos événements Généralités


Nos derniers articles Généralités


Que savoir avant de s'installer au Luxembourg ?

Vous envisagez de vous installer en tant qu’expat au Luxembourg ? Retrouvez ici tous nos conseils pour prendre votre décision...

Le Luxembourg, avis d'expatriés

A l’heure où certains se posent la question d’une éventuelle expatriation au Luxembourg, remettons en avant Expat Insider qui étudie...

Congés et vacances scolaires Luxembourg

Nouvelle année civile ou nouvelle année scolaire, il est temps de reprendre le travail et les bonnes habitudes après les...

Ils nous font confiance

AXA assurances Luxembourg
Raiffeisen Luxembourg
Enfant roi