Oktav: Pilgrimage & Octave Market at Luxembourg Cathedral

  • 10/May/2025
  • Luxembourg Cathedral, Luxembourg
Oktav pilgrimage Luxembourg Cathedral
Oktav pilgrimage Luxembourg Cathedral

Event description


Known locally as Oktav, the Octave pilgrimage is the biggest religious event in Luxembourg. It takes place every year in Luxembourg City, between the 3rd and 5th Sundays after Easter.

The Octave pilgrimage is accompanied by the Octave market or Maërtchen in Luxembourgish. 

Celebrated since the 17th century, the Oktav today attracts some 90,000 pilgrims. From all over the region, the faithful come to pay homage to the Virgin Mary, mother of Jesus, patron saint of the country and comforter of the afflicted.

The origins of the Octave pilgrimage

As the plague raged in Luxembourg in 1666, believers came to beg a wooden statue of the Virgin Mary, endowed with miraculous powers, to heal the sick.

The old statue was the object of great religious fervor. Originally erected at Champ du Glacis(in the Limpertsberg district), it was later moved to the interior of Luxembourg City. Since then, the statue of Notre-Dame de Luxembourg has been displayed on a gilded pedestal in Luxembourg Cathedral.

During the Octave pilgrimage, pilgrims gathered to pay homage, say prayers and ask for blessings. Octave celebrations began on the 3rd weekend after Easter and lasted 8 days?

The Octave experience today in Luxembourg

Since the 17th century, the Octave or "Oktav" pilgrimage has been followed with great enthusiasm. Originally a purely religious event, it has evolved into a traditional gathering of pilgrims and visitors, curious about history and folklore.

The Octave period now lasts two weeks in April or May, depending on the date chosen for Easter. 

During the Octave, pilgrims come from all over Luxembourg and the Greater Region to pray to the Virgin Mary. They gather at Luxembourg Cathedral and take part in various religious ceremonies and processions during the two weeks of the Octave. The atmosphere is one of devotion, unity and joy. The cathedral is richly decorated for the occasion. The statue of St. Mary Consoler is dressed in festive garments.

A grand procession marks the end of the two-week Octave pilgrimage. The faithful, dressed in traditional costumes, carry the statue of the Virgin Mary through the streets of Luxembourg City. Religious songs and prayers accompany the procession. The grand-ducal family follows the procession, as do the country's political authorities.

Later, the Grand Duke and Grand Duchess of Luxembourg appear on the balcony of the Palais Grand-Ducal in the Old Town district to greet the crowd, accompanied by the rest of the Grand Ducal family.

The Octave Market or "Maërtchen

Coming from far and wide, pilgrims attending the various religious celebrations of the Octave had to feed themselves. From the very beginning of the Octave, food stalls were set up in front of the cathedral, where pilgrims could find food. These were the beginnings of the Octave Market or "Mäertchen".

The Maërtchen is part of Luxembourg's spiritual and cultural heritage. It has become a key element of local traditions.

Indeed, the small food stalls of the traditional Octave pilgrimage are now one of the many attractions of the Marché de l'Octave. Set up on the large Place Guillaume II, also known as the "Knuedler", and around Luxembourg Cathedral, the Octave Market attracts not only the faithful, but also other visitors. Families living in Luxembourg and beyond take part in the festivities. They can take advantage of the gastronomic stalls, the merry-go-rounds set up for the occasion on the Place de la Constitution and the various Octave events.

The Octave pilgrimage in Luxembourg therefore combines not only spirituality, but also history and cultural celebrations. But it's not the only event of its kind in Luxembourg.

The Our Lady of Fatima pilgrimage to Wiltz also celebrates Luxembourg's religious values.

Similarly, and uniquely, the Echternach dance procession is listed as a Unesco intangible heritage site. Take part and discover the customs and traditions of Luxembourg.

  • Start date :
  • 10/05/2025

Location


Luxembourg Cathedral, Luxembourg

Our events General


They trust us

AXA assurances Luxembourg
Raiffeisen Luxembourg
Child king

Oktav : pèlerinage et marché de l’Octave à la Cathédrale de Luxembourg

  • 10/Mai/2025
  • Cathédrale de Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Pèlerinage de l'Oktav Cathédrale de Luxembourg
Pèlerinage de l'Oktav Cathédrale de Luxembourg

Description de l'événement


Connu localement sous le nom d’Oktav, le pèlerinage de l’Octave, est le plus grand événement religieux au Luxembourg. Il se déroule chaque année dans la ville de Luxembourg, entre le 3ème et le 5ème dimanche après Pâques.

Le pèlerinage de l’Octave s’accompagne du marché de l’Octve ou Maërtchen en luxembourgeois. 

Célébré depuis le 17ème siècle, l’Oktav rassemble aujourd’hui près de 90.000 pèlerins. Issus de toute la grande région, les fidèles viennent rendre hommage à la Vierge Marie, mère de Jésus, patronne du pays et consolatrice des affligés.

Les origines du pèlerinage de l’Octave

Alors que la peste faisait rage en 1666 au Luxembourg, les croyants venaient supplier une statue en bois de la Vierge Marie, dotée de pouvoirs miraculeux, de guérir les malades.

L’ancienne statue faisait l’objet d’une grande ferveur religieuse. Erigée à l’origine au Champ du Glacis (dans le quartier du Limpertsberg), elle fut par la suite transportée à l’intérieur de la ville de Luxembourg. Depuis, la statue de Notre-Dame de Luxembourg est exposée dans la cathédrale de Luxembourg sur un piédestal doré.

Lors du pèlerinage de l’Octave, les pèlerins se rassemblaient pour lui rendre hommage, faire des prières et demander des bénédictions. Les célébrations de l’Octave débutaient le 3ème week-end après les fêtes de Pâques et duraient 8 jours?

L’expérience de l’Octave aujourd’hui à Luxembourg

Depuis le 17ème siècle, le pèlerinage de l’Octave ou “Oktav” continue d’être suivi avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme. Uniquement religieux à l’origine, l’évènement a évolué vers un rendez-vous traditionnel, mêlant pèlerins et visiteurs, curieux d’histoire et de folklore.

La période de l’Octave dure désormais deux semaines en avril ou en mai, selon la date retenue pour les fêtes de Pâques. 

Lors de l’Octave, les pèlerins viennent du Luxembourg et de toute la Grande-Région pour prier la Vierge Marie. Ils se rassemblent à la cathédrale de Luxembourg et participent à diverses cérémonies religieuses et processions durant les deux semaines de l’Octave. L’atmosphère est empreinte de dévotion, d’unité et de joie. Pour l’occasion, la cathédrale est richement décorée. La statue de Sainte Marie Consolatrice est habillée de vêtements festifs.

Une grande procession marque la fin de la quinzaine du pèlerinage de l’Octave. Des fidèles en costumes traditionnels portent la statue de la Vierge Marie dans les rues de la ville de Luxembourg. Des chants religieux et des prières accompagnent la procession. La famille grand-ducale suit le cortège, de même que les instances politiques du pays.

Par la suite, le Grand-Duc et la Grande-Duchesse de Luxembourg apparaissent au balcon du Palais Grand-Ducal, dans le quartier de la vieille ville pour saluer la foule, accompagnés du reste de la famille grand-ducale.

Le Marché de l’Octave ou « Maërtchen »

Venus de très loin, les pèlerins qui assistent aux différentes célébrations religieuses de l’Octave devaient se nourrir. Dès l’origine de l’Octave, des stands de nourriture présents devant la cathédrale permettaient aux pélerins de trouver de la nourriture. Ce sont les débuts du Marché de l’Octave ou “Mäertchen”.

Le Maërtchen fait partie de l’héritage spirituel et culturel luxembourgeois. Il est devenu un élément clef des traditions locales.

En effet, les petits étals de nourriture du pèlerinage traditionnel de l’Octave font aujourd’hui partie des nombreuses attractions du Marché de l’Octave. Installé sur la grande Place Guillaume II, appelé également “Knuedler” et autour de la cathédrale de Luxembourg, le marché de l’Octave attire les fidèles, mais aussi d’autres visiteurs. En effet, les familles résidentes au Luxembourg ou au-delà, participent aux festivités. Elles peuvent notamment profiter des stands gastronomiques, des manèges installés pour l’occasion sur la Place de la Constitution et des diverses animations de l’Octave.

Le pèlerinage de l’Octave au Luxembourg allie par conséquent non seulement spiritualité, mais aussi histoire et célébrations culturelles. Mais ce n’est l’unique évènement en son genre au Luxembourg.

Le pèlerinage de Notre-Dame de Fatima à Wiltz célèbre également les valeurs religieuses du Luxembourg.

De même, et unique en son genre, la procession dansante d’Echternach est inscrite au patrimoine immatériel de l’Unesco. Y participer permet de découvrir les coutumes et les traditions du Luxembourg.

  • Date de début :
  • 10/05/2025

Localisation


Cathédrale de Luxembourg, Luxembourg

Nos événements Généralités


Ils nous font confiance

AXA assurances Luxembourg
Raiffeisen Luxembourg
Enfant roi