Non-profit organizations and volunteering

Volunteering in Luxembourg

Are you an expatriate in Luxembourg, or the spouse of an expatriate, and would like to get involved as a volunteer? Here are just a few of the associations in Luxembourg that are recognized as being of public utility and that will enable you to take part in solidarity projects.

Poverty and precariousness in Luxembourg

While Luxembourg is often renowned for the high standard of living enjoyed by its residents, poverty, precariousness and the need for assistance of all kinds are no less prevalent in the country. To help those in need, a number of solidarity projects exist in many areas of the Grand Duchy.

Almost 40% of households with 3 or more children are likely to fall into precarious living conditions. One of the main reasons for this is housing, the cost of which is weighing ever more heavily on household budgets.

Government aid is available to help the poorest households. But this is not enough.

Since 2024, organized begging has been banned in Luxembourg on certain streets in the Gare and Ville-Haute districts from 7am to 10pm. To help the underprivileged, the city has joined forces with a number of associations.

All the associations below are likely to welcome volunteers if you want to get involved in a cause.

Social solidarity associations

Fondation Caritas Luxembourg

The Fondation Caritas Luxembourg is active in the fields of solidarity and integration, emergency humanitarian aid and development cooperation.

Caritas missions

  • Emergency or occasional shelter for homeless people, accommodation for applicants for international protection, etc.
  • Caritas Buttek" social groceries, support for people in temporary distress, etc.
  • Day care centers, crèches and halfway houses, employment measures, training, etc.

Caritas recruits volunteers to help with its mission and collects clothing and other items for its work: financial donations, material donations, volunteer work, bequests, etc. Then it's up to you to decide how you want to get involved!

Caritas projects in Luxembourg

Caritas Luxembourg takes action at every level: financial support for people in distress, integration aid for foreign newcomers, the introduction of the "solidarity gifts" concept, help for children with learning disabilities or the homeless, setting up social grocery stores, ... and much more is supported by the Caritas charity!

To help you find out more about our various actions, the site provides a detailed explanation of each current project and its challenges! You'll also find a comprehensive calendar of solidarity events in Luxembourg. More information on caritas.lu.

Luxembourg Red Cross

The Luxembourg Red Cross is an association recognized as being in the public interest and engaged in a wide range of humanitarian missions.

  • Youth services (foster care center, adoption service, children's vacation camps, psycho-therapeutic service, etc.),
  • Social services (meals on wheels, local social services, migrant and refugee services, etc.),
  • Health services (blood transfusions, home aids and services, first aid training, integrated centers for the elderly, etc.),
  • International services (international solidarity, education for sustainable development, etc.).

For more information, visit www.croix-rouge.lu.

Inter-Actions, association for the socially disadvantaged

Since 1979, Inter-Actions has been working to help the socially disadvantaged in Luxembourg, young and old alike. This help takes the form of access to housing, as well as integration through community social work, "helping people to help themselves".

The association is also behind the "A vos côtés" service, which works in certain districts of Luxembourg to reassure residents in the face of growing insecurity, particularly in the Gare district .

More information on inter-actions.lu.

Stëmm vun der Strooss

The Stëmm vun der Strooss association helps disadvantaged people to integrate socially and professionally. In 2022, more than 120,000 meals were distributed and 141 tonnes of foodstuffs provided to almost 7,000 people.

Find out more about Stemm vun der Strooss: stemm.lu/en

Women in distress Luxembourg

This association offers women, their children and young girls effective protection against violence through the development and management of shelters for women and girls in distress, and information and counseling centers.

It contributes to improving women's living conditions, helping them to integrate into economic and social life, while guaranteeing them psychological, legal and social support and offering them specific training.

More information at www.fed.lu

Serve the city.lu, a solidarity initiative in Luxembourg

Would you like to help others by volunteering to support the homeless, children in need, or other community projects in Luxembourg? The Serve the City website could be just what you're looking for...

Serve The City is an online volunteering platform created in 2012 in Luxembourg. It lists and organizes various events for which volunteers are needed. Above all, the organization aims to be a human bridge between resourceful people and those in need.

Serve The City regularly organizes volunteer-based activities. Numerous upcoming events are posted on the site, along with a list of the volunteer profiles required for each of them. So all you have to do is sign up for the events that interest you, or the offers that suit you, to take part!

Serve The City is regularly looking for graphic designers, photographers, translators, project managers, sales people, etc . If you have a specific idea for a volunteer project, you can also contact Serve The City to tell them about your proposal! The people in charge will be delighted to discuss it with you. Find out more on the Serve the City.lu website.

Medical associations in Luxembourg

Cancer Foundation Luxembourg

This foundation does a wonderful job of preventing cancer and supporting patients and their families:

  • information on cancer for the general public and patients (Info Cancer publications, patient brochures, etc.),
  • practical help (administrative and financial problems, employment law, beauty advice, etc.),
  • psychological support (psychological consultations for patients and families, discussion groups, stress management for patients, etc.),
  • organization of the "Relais pour la Vie".

For more information, visit www.cancer.lu, www.relaispourlavie.lu and www.maviesanstabac.lu.

Médecins sans Frontières Luxembourg - MSF

The world-famous Médecins Sans Frontières association is also active in Luxembourg, and is always in need of non-medical help for a variety of tasks. 

Information on msf.lu/en

Médecins du Monde Luxembourg - MDM Luxembourg

Médecins du Monde is an international health organization. Founded in 1980 by Bernard Kouchner, MDM's mission is to "heal and bear witness". A pioneer in this field, MDM has been asserting the right to healthcare for all since 1995.

Médecins du Monde Luxembourg's projects are aimed at particularly vulnerable groups: the homeless and poorly housed, migrants (both irregular and asylum-seekers), prostitutes, Roma, women victims of violence, and so on.

Support them! With your tax-deductible donations, you're already helping to care for someone! More information on www.medecinsdumonde.lu

Association Nationale des Victimes de la Route - AVR

The Association des Victimes de la Route aims to improve the situation of victims of traffic accidents and their families. The AVR provides moral and legal support, as well as practical advice. Based in Howald, the association is also involved in prevention initiatives aimed at reducing road accidents. For further information, visit www.avr.lu

Slow Food Convivium Grand Duchy

Created in 2013, the Slow Food Grand Duchy convivium is an international group made up of a committee of members from the 4 corners of the world. Based on the concept of the Slow Food movement, the convivium works and makes every effort to promote healthy, good and fair food. The group organizes numerous events around food and crafts.

For more information: www.conviviumslowfoodgrand-duche.com

Do you love cinema? Every year, the Lux Film Festival is looking for around 80 volunteers to help run this major film festival in Luxembourg.

Strassen Volunteer Agency

The Agence du bénévolat's mission is to act as an intermediary between associations in need of volunteers and private individuals wishing to get involved in volunteering.
For more information, visit www.benevolat.public.lu.

Here more associations calling on volunteers.

Silver partner

INFPC Luxembourg Vocational training

INFPC and lifelong-learning.lu portal

See

Our events Employment - vocational training


Our latest articles Employment - vocational training


Apply for a summer job Luxembourg

Are you aged between 15 and 27, studying in Luxembourg or abroad? In Luxembourg, you can apply...

Largest employers in Luxembourg

Overview of employment in Luxembourg Luxembourg employed over 49,000 people in Q4 2022, residents and cross-border commuters...

Apply for a summer job in Luxembourg

Summer is already well underway in Luxembourg, much to everyone's delight. School vacations are fast approaching...

They trust us

AXA assurances Luxembourg
Raiffeisen Luxembourg
Child king

Associations d’utilité publique et bénévolat

Bénévolat au Luxembourg

Vous êtes expatrié(e) au Luxembourg ou conjoint d’expatrié(e) et souhaitez vous investir en tant que bénévole ? Ci-dessous quelques associations reconnues d’utilité publique au Luxembourg qui vous permettront de participer à des projets solidaires.

Pauvreté et précarité au Luxembourg

Si le Luxembourg est souvent réputé pour le haut niveau de vie mené par ses résidents, la pauvreté, la précarité et le besoin d’aides en tout genre ne restent pas moins présents dans le pays. Pour venir en aide aux personnes dans le besoin, plusieurs projets solidaires existent dans de nombreux domaines au Grand-Duché.

Il faut savoir que près de 40% des ménages avec 3 enfants et plus sont susceptibles de sombrer dans la précarité. Les raisons sont notamment liées au logement, dont le coût pèse de plus en plus lourd dans le budget des ménages.

Des aides gouvernementales sont accordées aux ménages les plus démunis pour les aider. Mais ce n’est pas suffisant.

Depuis 2024, la mendicité en bande organisée est interdite à Luxembourg dans certaines rues du quartier Gare et de la Ville-Haute de 7h à 22h. Pour aider les plus démunis, la ville s’associe avec plusieurs associations.

Toutes les associations ci-dessous sont susceptibles d’accueillir des bénévoles si vous souhaitez vous investir dans une cause.

Associations dans le domaine de la solidarité sociale

Fondation Caritas Luxembourg

La Fondation Caritas Luxembourg est active dans le domaine de la solidarité et de l’intégration, dans l’aide humanitaire d’urgence et la coopération au développement.

Missions de Caritas

  • Accueil d’urgence ou ponctuel pour personnes sans-abri, logement pour demandeurs de protection internationale , etc.
  • Épiceries sociales «Caritas Buttek», soutien de personnes en détresse momentanée, etc.
  • Foyers de jour, crèches et maisons relais, mesures à l’emploi, formations, etc.

Caritas recrute des bénévoles pour aider dans sa mission et récupère des vêtements et autres objets pour ses œuvres : dons financiers, dons de matériel, bénévolat, legs, … à vous ensuite de choisir de quelle manière vous souhaitez vous y investir !

Projets Caritas au Luxembourg

Caritas Luxembourg agit à tous les niveaux : soutien financier pour les personnes en détresse, aide à l’intégration pour les nouveaux arrivants étrangers, mise en place du concept de « cadeaux solidaires », aide aux enfants atteints d’un trouble de l’apprentissage ou aux sans-abris, mise en place d’épiceries sociales, … et bien d’autres choses encore sont soutenues par l’organisme de charité Caritas !

Pour vous aider à en savoir plus sur ses différentes actions, le site vous propose une explication détaillée de chaque projet en cours et de ses enjeux ! Vous y trouverez également un agenda très complet recensant de nombreux événements solidaires organisés au Luxembourg. Plus d’informations sur caritas.lu.

Croix-Rouge Luxembourgeoise

La Croix-Rouge luxembourgeoise est une association reconnue d’utilité publique engagée dans de nombreuses missions humanitaires.

  • Services de la jeunesse (centre de placement familial, service adoption, séjours de vacances pour enfants, service psycho-thérapeutique, etc.),
  • Services sociaux (repas sur roues, service social de proximité, service migrants et réfugiés, etc.),
  • Services sanitaires (transfusions sanguines, aides et services à domicile, formation aux premiers secours, centres intégrés pour personnes âgées, etc.),
  • Services internationaux (solidarité internationale, éducation au développement durable, etc.).

Pour plus d’informations consulter le site www.croix-rouge.lu.

Inter-Actions, association d’aide pour les personnes socialement défavorisées

Depuis 1979, Inter-Actions oeuvre pour aider les personnes socialement défavorisées au Luxembourg, jeunes et moins jeunes. Cette aide se traduit notamment par l’accession au logement, ainsi que par l’insertion via le travail social communautaire en “aidant les gens à s’aider”.

L’association est également à l’origine du service “A vos côtés”, oeuvrant dans certains quartiers de Luxembourg afin de rassurer les riverains face à l’insécurité grandissante, notamment dans le quartier Gare.

Plus d’informations sur inter-actions.lu.

Stëmm vun der Strooss

L’association Stëmm vun der Strooss oeuvre pour aider les personnes défavorisées, en faveur de leur intégration sociale et professionnelle. En 2022, ce sont plus de 120.000 repas distribués et 141 tonnes de denrées alimentaires distribuées auprès de près de 7.000 personnes.

En avoir plus sur les activités de Stemm vun der Strooss : stemm.lu/fr

Femmes en détresse Luxembourg

Cette association offre aux femmes, à leurs enfants ainsi qu’aux jeunes filles une protection efficace contre la violence par le développement et la gestion des maisons pour femmes et jeunes filles en détresse, de centres d’information et de consultation.

Elle contribue à améliorer les conditions de vie des femmes, en les aidant à s’intégrer à la vie économique et sociale tout en leur garantissant une aide psychologique, juridique et sociale et en leur offrant des formations spécifiques.

Plus d’informations sur www.fed.lu

Serve the city.lu, une initiative solidaire à Luxembourg

Vous souhaitez venir en aide aux autres en vous portant volontaire pour épauler des personnes sans domicile fixe, des enfants dans le besoin ou pour participer à d’autres projets associatifs au Luxembourg ? Le site Serve the City pourrait bien vous être utile…

Serve The City est une plateforme de bénévolat en ligne créée en 2012 au Luxembourg. Elle recense et organise divers événements pour lesquels des bénévoles et volontaires sont nécessaires. L’organisme se veut avant tout être un pont humain entre les personnes de ressource, et les personnes dans le besoin.

Serve The City organise régulièrement des activités basées sur le bénévolat. De nombreux événements à venir sont affichés sur le site, ainsi que la liste de profils de bénévoles recherchés pour chacun d’entre eux. Il vous suffit donc simplement de vous inscrire aux événements qui vous intéressent ou aux offres qui vous correspondent pour y participer !

Serve The City recherche régulièrement des designers graphique, photographes, traducteurs, chefsde projet, vendeurs, … Si vous avez une idée spécifique de projet de volontariat, vous pouvez également contacter Serve The City afin de leur parler de votre proposition ! Les responsables seront ravis d’en discuter avec vous. Plus d’infos sur le site de Serve the City.lu.

Associations médicales au Luxembourg

Fondation Cancer Luxembourg

Cette fondation fait un travail formidable de prévention du cancer et de soutien auprès des patients et de leur entourage :

  • informations sur le cancer pour le grand public et les patients (publie Info Cancer, des brochures pour patients, etc.),
  • aide pratique (problèmes administratifs et financiers, droit du travail, conseils en esthétique, etc.),
  • soutien psychologique (consultations psychologiques pour le patient et la famille, groupe de parole, de gestion du stress pour patients, etc.),
  • organisation du “Relais pour la Vie”.

Plus de renseignements sur www.cancer.lu, www.relaispourlavie.lu et www.maviesanstabac.lu.

Médecins sans Frontières Luxembourg – MSF

Mondialement connue, l’association Médecins Sans Frontières est également active au Luxembourg et a toujours besoin d’aide non médicale pour des tâches variées. 

Renseignements sur msf.lu/fr

Médecins du Monde Luxembourg – MDM Luxembourg

Médecins du Monde est une organisation internationale agissant dans le domaine de la santé. Créée en 1980 par Bernard Kouchner, MDM se donne pour mission de « soigner et témoigner ». Avant-gardiste, MDM affirme dès 1995 le droit aux soins pour tous.

Les projets de Médecins du Monde Luxembourg s’adressent à des groupes particulièrement vulnérables : les sans-abris et les mal-logés, les migrants (irréguliers et demandeurs d’asile), les personnes se prostituant, les Roms, les femmes victimes de violence, etc.

Soutenez-les ! Avec vos dons (fiscalement déductibles), vous vous engagez déjà à soigner quelqu’un ! Plus d’infos sur www.medecinsdumonde.lu

Association Nationale des Victimes de la Route – AVR

L’association des Victimes de la Route a pour objectif d’améliorer la situation des victimes d’accidents de la circulation et de leurs proches. L’AVR leur apporte un soutien moral, juridique et des conseils pratiques. Située à Howald, l’association collabore également aux actions de prévention visant à réduire l’insécurité routière. Renseignements sur www.avr.lu

Convivium Slow Food Grand-Duché

Créé en 2013, le convivium Slow Food Grand-Duché est un groupe international constitué d’un comité de membres provenant des 4 coins du monde. En se basant sur le concept du mouvement Slow Food, le convivium travaille et met tout en œuvre pour promouvoir une alimentation saine, bonne et équitable. Le groupe organise de nombreux évènements autour de l’alimentation et de l’artisanat.

Pour en savoir plus : www.conviviumslowfoodgrand-duche.com

Vous aimez le cinéma ? Le Lux Film Festival recherche chaque année environ 80 bénévoles pour mener à bien ce festival du film majeur au Luxembourg.

Agence du bénévolat à Strassen

La mission de l’Agence du bénévolat est d’être l’intermédiaire entre les associations qui ont besoin de bénévoles et les personnes privées qui souhaitent s’engager dans le bénévolat.
Pour plus de renseignements, voir le site internet : www.benevolat.public.lu

Ici plus d’associations faisant appel à des bénévoles.

Partenaire silver

INFPC et portail lifelong-learning.lu

Voir

Nos événements Emploi - formation professionnelle


Nos derniers articles Emploi - formation professionnelle


Postuler à un job d'été Luxembourg

Vous avez entre 15 et 27 ans, vous étudiez au Luxembourg ou à l’étranger ? Au Luxembourg, vous pouvez postuler...

Plus grands employeurs au Luxembourg

Vue d’ensemble de l’emploi au Luxembourg Le Luxembourg employait plus de 517.972 personnes au 4ème trimestre 2023, résidents et frontaliers...

Postuler à un emploi en été au Luxembourg

L’été est déjà bien présent au Luxembourg pour le plus grand plaisir de tous. Les vacances scolaires approchent  au grand...

Ils nous font confiance

AXA assurances Luxembourg
Raiffeisen Luxembourg
Enfant roi