Luxembourg Gare, a popular and diverse district

Luxembourg Station district

The Gare district is one of Luxembourg City's smallest neighborhoods. It is also one of the most densely populated. It also has the highest concentration of foreign residents.

Ideal for its proximity to Luxembourg station and shops, it offers a diverse and lively environment. It also represents the worst of Luxembourg City in terms of drug trafficking, delinquency and prostitution.

Population of the Gare district in Luxembourg

Gasperich districtLuxembourg City
Number of inhabitants on January 1, 202311.895132.778
Number of different nationalities131167
% foreigners in total population84%70,8%
Source: City of Luxembourg

La Gare, Luxembourg's popular and heterogeneous district

Central and diverse, the Luxembourg station district is surrounded by the Hollerich, Grund, Bonnevoie and Centre districts.

The Gare district is one of Luxembourg City's most popular and heterogeneous neighborhoods, bustling with stores and commuters. It is one of Luxembourg's smallest and most densely populated districts. It is particularly appreciated for its high concentration of shops. 

Magnificent buildings on the Plateau Bourbon in the Gare district

Its northern part, known as the Plateau Bourbon, is separated from the heart of the capital by the Pont Adolphe. This magnificent historic bridge overlooking the Pétrusse valley was recently renovated. Not only does it allow the passage of cars and streetcars, it also offers a totally safe passageway for pedestrians and cyclists. Don't miss the magnificent view over the Ville-Haute and its cathedral.

The Plateau Bourbon area features magnificent residential buildings, including the former headquarters of the Arcelor Mittal Group. The Avenue de la Liberté, just a stone's throw from the shops, is lined with magnificent 19th-century architectural buildings.

The Pétrusse area is home to some magnificent 19th-century detached houses. Some embassies have taken up residence here. This district is also very interesting for the beauty of its residential buildings. In some streets, charming Haussmann-style apartments date back to the 19th century.

Shops and services in the Gare de Luxembourg district

Finally, the area closer to the station is home to a large number of shops and some administrative offices. The installation of the tramway and the lengthy construction work have taken their toll on the shops. Many stores have closed. Despite the redevelopment of the Place de Paris, the area is struggling to regain its dynamism. The Rue de Strasbourg is soon to be upgraded and made safer, offering more pedestrian space and greenery.

Security problems around Luxembourg station

The Gare district is also criticized for its lack of security. With the capital's main railway station at its center of gravity, it attracts a very mixed population, leading to local tensions. The issue is clearly on the agenda for the current administration, and will be debated in the upcoming municipal elections.

Amenities in Luxembourg's Gare district

La Gare is a popular neighborhood with shops, restaurants and a lively community life. It is strategically located for residents without a car.

Station district shops

The Gare district is a shopping area, especially Rue de la Gare and the Place de Paris side. Unfortunately, the tramway works have had a detrimental effect on businesses. More than twenty have closed their doors.

Nevertheless, you'll find plenty of stores selling clothes, home decor and cosmetics, as well as bakeries. Several chain stores are present in the area. This commercial diversity makes the station a neighborhood where everything is accessible in one place.

Several supermarkets and food stores are located here: Monoprix, Delhaize, a Carrefour Market and a Cactus Market.

Every Thursday, the Place de Paris plays host to the Garer Maart.

Entertainment in the Gare district

Numerous cafés and restaurants liven up the area. Be careful when you go out, as the area is not always very busy.

Nightclubs and hostess bars welcome night owls in this district;

Schools and crèches in the Gare district

Only one basic school is located in this district. Several crèches and hostels in the Gare area. However, places are at a premium due to the presence of social hostels in the area and the fact that the administration covers the costs for refugee populations.

Public transport and parking in the station area

The Gare district is one of the best served by public transport. Located, as its name suggests, in the immediate vicinity of the Luxembourg City train station, it also benefits from numerous bus stops to other parts of Luxembourg and to the Greater Region .

The tramway passes in front of the station and serves the city center and the Kirchberg district. Its extension to the Cloche d'Or is scheduled for 2024. It will reachFindel airport in 2025.

The Fort Neipperg and Fort Wedell parking lots offer two hours' free parking on weekdays and Sundays, and four hours' free parking on Saturdays to support local businesses. The parking lot next to the train station has a "Kiss and Go" parking lot for drop-offs.

Living in Luxembourg's Gare district

Despite numerous efforts to make the area safer, the streets in the immediate vicinity of the station suffer from a bad reputation. Problems of prostitution, drugs and petty crime remain a handicap, especially in the evenings. A group of local residents are working to improve safety and living conditions around the station.

Rue de Strasbourg, a major thoroughfare in the Gare district, is to be redeveloped. The aim is to make the street more welcoming. Safety will also be a priority, with improved accessibility for pedestrians. Cars will be slowed down by raising the road surface. Parking lots will be replaced by terraces.

See our comparison of Luxembourg's different neighborhoods to find out where to live.

Price per m2 for sale Station districtRental price per m2 Station district
10,435 euros30.96 euros
Down 7.76% year-on-yearUp 12.75% year-on-year
Luxembourg City comparison: 12,056 euros/m2 Center region comparison: 30.53 euros/m2
Source Immotop - October 2023

Want to find out more about property prices and the Luxembourg real estate market? Follow this link

 Find all the districts of Luxembourg City

BeggenBelair
BonnevoieVille-Haute / Historic center
CentsCessange
ClausenDommeldange
EichStation
GasperichGrund
HammHollerich
KirchbergLimpertsberg
MerlMühlenbach
Neudorf- WeimershofPfaffenthal
PulvermühleRollingergrund
Weimerskirch Luxembourg City

Our events Housing


Our latest articles Housing


House price trend Luxembourg

Are you planning to move to Luxembourg? It's important to know that real estate prices in Luxembourg are structurally...

Moving to Luxembourg: what do you need to know?

The decision's made - you're moving to Luxembourg soon! But before you start packing, you'll need to...

Buying a property in Luxembourg

With almost 12,000 new residents every year, the real estate market in Luxembourg is booming. With the incentives...

They trust us

AXA assurances Luxembourg
Raiffeisen Luxembourg
Child king

Luxembourg Gare, quartier populaire et hétéroclite

Quartier Gare Luxembourg

Le quartier de la Gare est l’un des plus petits quartiers de la Ville de Luxembourg. C’est aussi l’un des plus peuplés. Par ailleurs, il concentre la plus forte population étrangère.

Idéal par sa proximité avec la gare de Luxembourg et les commerces, il offre un environnement hétéroclite et très vivant. Il représente également le pire de la ville de Luxembourg en matière de trafic de drogues, de délinquance et de prostitution.

Population du quartier de la Gare à Luxembourg

Quartier GasperichVille de Luxembourg
Nombre d’habitants au 1er janvier 202311.895132.778
Nombre de nationalités différentes131167
% d’étrangers dans la population totale84%70,8%
Source Ville de Luxembourg

La Gare, quartier populaire et hétérogène de Luxembourg

Central et hétéroclite, le quartier de la gare de Luxembourg est entouré par le quartier de Hollerich, du Grund, de Bonnevoie et du Centre.

Animé par ses nombreux magasins et par les allers-retours de nombreux voyageurs, le quartier de Gare est un des quartiers les plus populaires et hétérogène de la ville de Luxembourg. Il représente l’un des plus petits quartiers de Luxembourg en taille, mais aussi un des plus peuplés. Il est principalement apprécié pour sa grande concentration commerciale. 

Magnifiques immeubles sur le Plateau Bourbon quartier Gare

Sa partie nord, appelée le Plateau Bourbon, est séparée du cœur de la capitale par le Pont Adolphe. Ce magnifique pont historique surplombant la vallée de la Pétrusse a été récemment rénové. Il permet le passage des voitures et du tramway, mais offre également un lieu de passage totalement sécurisé avec sa passerelle pour les piétons et les vélos. Ne manquez pas d’y passer, on y a une vue magnifique sur la Ville-Haute et sa cathédrale.

Le secteur du Plateau Bourbon se compose de magnifiques immeubles résidentiels, dont l’ancien siège du Groupe Arcelor Mittal. L’Avenue de la Liberté, située à deux pas des commerces, est longée de magnifiques constructions architecturales du 19 ème siècle.

De magnifiques maisons individuelles du 19ème sont implantées dans le secteur de la Pétrusse. Certaines ambassades y ont élu domicile. Ce quartier est aussi très intéressant par la beauté de ses immeubles résidentiels. Dans certaines rues, les appartements de charme, de style haussmannien, datent du XIXème. 

Commerces, services dans le quartier Gare de Luxembourg

Enfin, le secteur plus proche de la gare héberge de nombreux commerces et certaines administrations. L’implantation du tramway et les longs travaux ont causé du tort aux commerces. De nombreux magasins ont fermé leurs portes. Le quartier a du mal à retrouver son dynamisme, malgré le réaménagement de la Place de Paris. La Rue de Strasbourg doit être prochainement revalorisée et sécurisée, offrant plus d’espaces piétonniers et de verdure.

Problèmes de sécurité autour de la Gare de Luxembourg

Le quartier de la Gare est par ailleurs décrié pour son manque de sécurité. Avec son centre de gravité constitué par la gare centrale de la capitale, il draine une population très hétéroclite, entraînant des tensions locales. Le sujet est clairement à l’ordre du jour pour l’administration actuelle et présent dans le débat des prochaines élections municipales.

Commodités du quartier de la Gare à Luxembourg

La Gare est un quartier populaire apprécié pour ses commerces, ses restaurants et sa vie de quartier animée. Il est stratégique pour les habitants n’ayant pas de voiture.

Commerces du quartier Gare

Le quartier de la Gare est un quartier commerçant, surtout la Rue de la Gare et le côté de la Place de Paris. Malheureusement, les travaux du tramway ont nuit aux commerces. Plus d’une vingtaine ont fermé leurs portes.

Néanmoins,  vous y trouverez de nombreux magasins d’habillement, de décoration, de cosmétiques, mais aussi des boulangeries. Plusieurs chaines de magasins sont présentes dans le quartier. On y trouve les enseignes Cette diversité commerciale fait de la gare un quartier où tout est accessible en un même lieu.

Plusieurs supermarchés et magasins de bouche sont installés ici : Monoprix, Delhaize, un Carrefour Market, un Cactus Market.

La Place de Paris accueille chaque jeudi le Garer Maart.

Sorties et loisirs du quartier Gare

De nombreux cafés et restaurants animent le quartier. Attention à vos heures de sortie, le quartier n’est pas toujours bien fréquenté.

Les bars de nuit et bars à hôtesses accueillent les noctambules dans ce quartier;

Ecoles et crèches dans le quartier Gare

Une seule école fondamentale est présente dans ce quartier. Plusieurs crèches et foyers scolaires dans le secteur de la Gare. Attenion, les places sont très prises du fait de la présence de foyers sociaux sur le secteur et de la prise en charge des frais par l’administration pour les populations réfugiées.

Transports publics et parkings dans le quartier gare

Le quartier de la gare est un des mieux desservi en termes de transports en commun. Situé comme son nom l’indique à proximité immédiate de la gare de la Ville de Luxembourg, il bénéficie également de nombreux arrêts de bus vers les régions du Luxembourg ou pour la Grande-région. 

Le tramway passe devant la gare et dessert le centre-ville et le quartier Kirchberg. Son prolongement est prévu vers la Cloche d’Or pour 2024. Il rejoindra l’aéroport du Findel en 2025.

Les parkings Fort Neipperg et Fort Wedell proposent deux heures de stationnement gratuit en semaine et le dimanche, quatre heures gratuites le samedi afin de favoriser les commerces du quartier. Le parking à côté de la Gare dispose d’un parking “Kiss and Go” pour les dépose-minutes des voyageurs.

Habiter dans le quartier de la Gare à Luxembourg

Malgré de nombreux efforts de sécurisation du quartier, les rues à proximité immédiate de la gare souffrent d’une mauvaise réputation. Les problèmes de prostitution, de drogue et de petite délinquance restent un handicap, surtout le soir. Un collectif de résidents du quartier oeuvrent pour une meilleure sécurité et une amélioration des conditions de vie autour de la gare.

La Rue de Strasbourg, axe majeur du quartier de la Gare, va être réaménagée. L’objectif est de rendre cette rue plus accueillante. La sécurité sera également privilégiée avec une meilleure accessibilité pour les piétons. Les voitures seront ralenties par des rehaussements de la chaussée. Les parkings laisseront la place à des terrasses.

Consulter notre comparaison sur les différents quartiers de Luxembourg pour savoir où habiter.

Prix au m2 à la vente quartier GarePrix au m2 à la location quartier Gare
10.435 euros30,96 euros
Baisse de 7,76% sur un anHausse de 12,75% sur un an
Comparatif ville de Luxembourg : 12.056 euros/m2 Comparatif région Centre : 30,53 euros/m2
Source Immotop – octobre 2023

Vous voulez en savoir plus sur les prix et le marché immobilier à Luxembourg ? Consultez ce lien

 Retrouvez tous les quartiers de la Ville de Luxembourg

BeggenBelair
BonnevoieVille-Haute / Centre historique
CentsCessange
ClausenDommeldange
EichGare
GasperichGrund
HammHollerich
KirchbergLimpertsberg
MerlMühlenbach
Neudorf- WeimershofPfaffenthal
PulvermühleRollingergrund
Weimerskirch Ville de Luxembourg

Nos événements Logement


Nos derniers articles Logement


Evolution prix logements Luxembourg

Avez-vous pour projet de vous installer au Luxembourg ? Il faut savoir que les prix de l’immobilier y sont structurellement...

Emménager au Luxembourg : que faut-il savoir ?

La décision est prise, vous vous installez prochainement au Luxembourg ! Oui mais avant de préparer vos cartons, vous avez...

Acheter un bien immobilier au Luxembourg

Avec près de 12.000 nouveaux résidents chaque année, le marché immobilier au Luxembourg est en pleine croissance. Avec les incitations...

Ils nous font confiance

AXA assurances Luxembourg
Raiffeisen Luxembourg
Enfant roi