How do expats feel about living in Luxembourg?

Luxembourg, expatriate opinion

At a time when some people are wondering whether to move to Luxembourg, let's take another look at Expat Insider's annual ranking of expatriates' favorite destinations.

So what do expats think of Luxembourg? In the last survey in October 2023, Luxembourg reappeared as the 19th preferred destination for expats, having plummeted to 36th place in the post-Covid survey in 2021!

This year, over 12,000 expatriates worldwide, from 171 different nationalities, and living in 172 countries, responded toInterNations' annual survey. However, in order to participate in the study's global ranking, at least 50 people in a country must take part in the questionnaire. As a result, 53 destinations are ranked in this 2021 edition of Expat Insider. Here are a few facts about expatriate life in Luxembourg.

Why do expatriates settle in Luxembourg?

It's worth remembering that the main reasons for moving abroad, for all countries combined, are work and career prospects for almost a third. The second most important reason is the choice of a new way of life. Family and children's education are less frequently cited reasons.

Luxembourg is no exception to the rule. The Luxembourg economy attracts many expatriates. Career prospects are clearly the No. 1 criterion for moving to Luxembourg. But isn't the second most important reason for moving to Luxembourg?

Quality of life in Luxembourg

Overall, Luxembourg ranks 19th out of 53 countries for quality of life. It even reached the top 10 of countries with the best quality of life, coming in 9th. 

Safety is a big plus for Luxembourg. Expatriates surveyed ranked it first in this area, ahead of Switzerland and Finland. Luxembourg also came a very respectable fourth for transport and travel, as well as health. The Grand Duchy also came a respectable twelfth for the environment.

On the other hand, leisure remains a black mark. Indeed, while Luxembourg improved its score this year in all categories, it once again occupies the bottom of the table in the field of leisure, with a 51st place just ahead of Norway and Kuwait...

A complicated social life despite multilingualism

Difficulty integrating

Luxembourg does not appear as a country where it's easy to integrate. Once again, expatriates surveyed ranked Luxembourg 34th out of 53 countries for ease of settlement and integration. Foreign residents in Luxembourg point to the difficulty of socializing locally.

As a result, Luxembourg ranks 41st for local friendliness and 24th for culture and feeling welcome. Social life and friends appear to be an equally complicated subject, ranking 37th.

Even if Luxembourg is gaining ground in terms of social life, it's still hard to make friends. While 16% of those surveyed overall found local people unfriendly, this figure rises to 24% in Luxembourg. Even if the figures improve this year, it's still hard to feel at home in Luxembourg.

Multilingualism and multiculturalism

Luxembourg nevertheless ranks 12th for language. It's true that you can always find someone who speaks your language in Luxembourg, given the country's strong multiculturalism. A positive point for communication, but ultimately very confusing. 

Indeed, the multiplicity of nationalities present in Luxembourg can be complicated to manage. While this may seem like an advantage, it can make it difficult to make contact with other communities. On arrival, everyone tends to turn to their own community, which has the same culture and references. However, the many events organized on a regular basis help to raise awareness of this cultural diversity. Taking part in them can help you acquire new points of reference and facilitate your integration.

To help them settle in more quickly, newcomers to Luxembourg are encouraged to learn a few words in Lëtzebuergesch. This will facilitate initial contacts with the local population.

Want to move to Luxembourg? Find out more here.

Employment, a key factor in attracting expatriates to Luxembourg

Overall, Luxembourg ranks 2nd in the index of working life, behind the Netherlands and ahead of Sweden. Expatriates praise salaries and job security, placing Luxembourg in 1st place in this area. Career prospects put Luxembourg in fourth place, behind the USA, the United Arab Emirates, Ireland and Saudi Arabia.

On the other hand, work-life balance appears more mixed, ranking 25th out of 53. Nevertheless, expatriates are satisfied with their work-life balance.

See our special report on employment in Luxembourg. 

Finances, the big black spot for expatriates in Luxembourg

Luxembourg ranks 35th for personal finances. It falls to 52nd place out of 53 for housing.

Inflation and cost of living

As elsewhere in the world, the cost of living has risen sharply. Inflation continues to climb, fuelled in part by indexation increases. The principle of indexation offsets purchasing power. It does, however, increase costs for companies, who pass on their costs in prices.

Housing costs

Housing in Luxembourg has reached unprecedented levels in recent months. It is becoming "unaffordable" for a large majority of new arrivals. The sharp rise in housing prices over the period 2020 to 2022 is one of the key factors behind this poor ranking. It is becoming increasingly difficult to find a place to live, given the lack of supply of both rental and purchase properties. Find out more about housing in Luxembourg.

The family aspect, the other satisfaction of expatriates

Even if the family aspect does not appear in this new study, it should be remembered that family well-being ranked Luxembourg 9th in 2019. Even today, Luxembourg remains a very popular destination for raising children .

Children can grow up in a safe environment. Their health and well-being are of particular interest to public institutions. They benefit from a multilingual education that opens doors to international opportunities.

Find out more about living with children in Luxembourg

Did you like this information? Share it! 

You may also like these articles


School vacations Luxembourg

As the summer vacations approach, don't lose sight of the dates of the next vacations in Luxembourg. On the way...

What do I need to know before moving to Luxembourg?

Are you thinking of moving to Luxembourg as an expat? Find all our advice here to help you make the right decision...

Guides Just Arrived Luxembourg 2023 2024

Just Arrived 2023-2024 guide for expatriates in Luxembourg The 10th and final edition of the guide for new residents in Luxembourg...

They trust us

AXA assurances Luxembourg
Raiffeisen Luxembourg
Child king

Leben in Luxemburg, was denken die Expats?

Luxemburg, Meinungen von Expats

Zu einer Zeit, in der sich einige die Frage stellen, ob sie nach Luxemburg auswandern sollen, wollen wir Expat Insider wieder in Erinnerung rufen, der jedes Jahr die Rangliste der beliebtesten Auswanderungsziele untersucht.

Was denken die Expats über Luxemburg? In der letzten Studie im Oktober 2023 tauchte Luxemburg wieder auf Platz 19 der beliebtesten Expat-Destinationen auf. Allerdings war Luxemburg in der Covid-Ära 2021 auf Platz 36 abgerutscht!

In diesem Jahr haben weltweit mehr als 12.000 Expatriates aus 171 verschiedenen Nationalitäten, die in 172 Ländern leben, an derjährlichen Umfrage von InterNations teilgenommen. Um an der Gesamtrangliste der Studie teilnehmen zu können, müssen jedoch mindestens 50 Personen in einem Land den Fragebogen ausfüllen. Folglich positionieren sich 53 Reiseziele in der Ausgabe 2021 von Expat Insider. Wir liefern Ihnen hier einige Anhaltspunkte über das Leben als Expat in Luxemburg.

Warum ziehen Expats nach Luxemburg?

Die Hauptgründe für einen Umzug ins Ausland sind für fast ein Drittel der Befragten in allen Ländern die Arbeit und die Karriereaussichten. Der zweithäufigste Grund ist die Wahl eines neuen Lebensstils. Familie und Kindererziehung sind weniger häufig genannte Gründe.

Luxemburg ist da keine Ausnahme. Die luxemburgische Wirtschaft zieht viele Auswanderer an. Die Karriereaussichten sind ganz klar das Kriterium Nummer eins, um nach Luxemburg auszuwandern. Aber liegt der zweite Grund, nach Luxemburg zu ziehen, nicht woanders?

Eine gute Lebensqualität in Luxemburg

Insgesamt rangiert Luxemburg auf Platz 19 von 53 Ländern, in denen es sich gut leben lässt. Es erreicht sogar die Top 10 der Länder mit der höchsten Lebensqualität und belegt den 9. 

Sicherheit ist ein großer Pluspunkt für Luxemburg. Die befragten Expatriates gaben dem Land den ersten Platz in diesem Bereich, vor der Schweiz und Finnland. Auch in den Bereichen Transport und Reisen sowie Gesundheit belegt Luxemburg einen sehr guten vierten Platz. Im Bereich Umwelt belegt das Großherzogtum einen respektablen zwölften Platz.

Dagegen bleibt das Thema Freizeit ein schwarzer Fleck. Denn obwohl Luxemburg in diesem Jahr in allen Rubriken besser abgeschnitten hat, belegt es im Bereich Freizeit mit Platz 51 erneut das untere Ende der Tabelle, direkt vor Norwegen und Kuwait...

Kompliziertes Sozialleben trotz Mehrsprachigkeit

Schwierigkeiten, sich zu integrieren

Luxemburg scheint kein Land zu sein, in dem es leicht ist, sich zu integrieren. Auch hier belegen die befragten Expatriates den 34. von 53 Plätzen, wenn es darum geht, wie leicht es ist, sich in Luxemburg niederzulassen und sich zu integrieren. Ausländische Einwohner Luxemburgs geben an, dass es schwierig ist, vor Ort soziale Kontakte zu knüpfen.

Folglich belegt Luxemburg den 41. Platz in Bezug auf die lokale Freundlichkeit und den 24. Platz in Bezug auf die Kultur und das Gefühl, willkommen zu sein. Das Sozialleben und die Freunde scheinen mit Platz 37 ein ebenso kompliziertes Thema zu sein.

Auch wenn Luxemburg im Hinblick auf das Sozialleben Plätze gut macht, bleibt es kompliziert, Freunde zu finden. Während 16% der Befragten insgesamt die einheimische Bevölkerung als unfreundlich empfanden, stieg diese Zahl in Luxemburg auf 24%. Auch wenn sich die Zahlen in diesem Jahr verbessern, ist es immer noch schwierig, sich in Luxemburg zu Hause zu fühlen.

Mehrsprachigkeit und Multikulturalismus

Luxemburg steht jedoch auf Platz 12, wenn es um die Sprache geht. Es stimmt, dass man in Luxemburg aufgrund der starken Multikulturalität immer jemanden findet, der seine Sprache spricht. Dies ist zwar ein positiver Aspekt für die Kommunikation, aber letztendlich auch sehr verwirrend. 

Die vielen Nationalitäten, die in Luxemburg leben, können sich als kompliziert erweisen. Auch wenn dies ein Vorteil zu sein scheint, ist es schwierig, mit anderen Gemeinschaften in Kontakt zu treten. Bei der Ankunft neigt jeder dazu, sich an seine Gemeinschaft zu wenden, die über die gleiche Kultur und die gleichen Referenzen verfügt. Die zahlreichen Veranstaltungen, die regelmäßig organisiert werden , ermöglichen es jedoch, sich dieser kulturellen Vielfalt bewusst zu werden. Die Teilnahme an diesen Veranstaltungen ermöglicht es, neue Bezugspunkte zu gewinnen und die Integration zu erleichtern.

Um sich schneller einzuleben, werden Neuankömmlinge in Luxemburg außerdem dazu ermutigt, ein paar Wörter Luxemburgisch zu lernen. Dies wird den ersten Kontakt mit der einheimischen Bevölkerung erleichtern.

Sie möchten sich in Luxemburg niederlassen? Alle Informationen finden Sie hier.

Beschäftigung als Trumpfkarte, um Expats nach Luxemburg zu locken

Insgesamt steht Luxemburg beim Index des Arbeitslebens an zweiter Stelle, hinter den Niederlanden und vor Schweden. Die Expatriates loben das Gehalt und die berufliche Sicherheit und setzen Luxemburg in diesem Bereich auf den ersten Platz. Bei den Karriereaussichten belegt Luxemburg den vierten Platz, hinter den USA, den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten, Irland und Saudi-Arabien.

Die Work-Life-Balance hingegen erscheint mit Platz 25 von 53 eher durchwachsen. Dennoch sind die Expatriates mit der Work-Life-Balance zufrieden.

Lesen Sie unser Spezialdossier über Beschäftigung in Luxemburg. 

Die Finanzen sind das größte Problem von Expatriates in Luxemburg

Luxemburg belegt den 35. Platz in Bezug auf die persönlichen Finanzen. Es fällt auf den 52. von 53 Plätzen, wenn es um die Wohnsituation geht.

Inflation und Lebenshaltungskosten

Wie überall auf der Welt sind die Lebenshaltungskosten sehr stark gestiegen. Die Inflation steigt weiter an und wird zum Teil durch Indexerhöhungen angeheizt. Das Prinzip der Indexierung gleicht die Kaufkraft aus. Es erhöht jedoch die Kosten für die Unternehmen, die ihre Kosten auf die Preise umlegen.

Kosten der Unterkunft

Die Wohnkosten in Luxemburg haben in den letzten Monaten ein nie dagewesenes Niveau erreicht. Er wird für eine große Mehrheit der Neuankömmlinge "unerschwinglich". Der starke Anstieg der Wohnungspreise in den Jahren 2020 bis 2022 ist einer der Schlüsselfaktoren für diesen sehr schlechten Platz. im Hinblick auf die Wohnungssituation. Es wird heute immer schwieriger, eine Wohnung zu finden, da das Angebot sowohl bei Kauf als auch bei Miete unzureichend ist. Weitere Informationen zum Thema Wohnen in Luxemburg.

Der familiäre Aspekt, die andere Zufriedenheit der Expatriates

Auch wenn der Aspekt der Familie in der neuen Studie nicht berücksichtigt wird, sei daran erinnert, dass Luxemburg 2019 beim Wohlbefinden der Familie auf Platz 9 landete. Luxemburg ist auch heute noch ein sehr beliebtes Ziel, um Kinder großzuziehen.

Kinder können nämlich in einer sicheren Umgebung aufwachsen. Ihre Gesundheit und ihr Wohlergehen sind für die öffentlichen Einrichtungen von besonderem Interesse. Sie profitieren von einer mehrsprachigen Erziehung, die ihnen Türen auf internationaler Ebene öffnen kann.

Weitere Informationen zum Leben als Familie mit Kindern in Luxemburg

Hat Ihnen diese Information gefallen? Teilen Sie sie mit! 

Diese Artikel könnten Ihnen gefallen


Urlaub und Schulferien Luxemburg

Wenn sich die nächsten Sommerferien nähern, sollten Sie die Daten der nächsten Urlaube in Luxemburg nicht aus den Augen verlieren. Auf dem Weg...

Was muss man wissen, bevor man sich in Luxemburg niederlässt?

Sie überlegen, als Expat nach Luxemburg zu ziehen? Hier finden Sie alle unsere Ratschläge, um Ihre Entscheidung zu treffen...

Guides Just Arrived Luxembourg 2023 2024

Just Arrived Guide 2023-2024 für Expatriates in Luxemburg Die 10. und letzte Ausgabe des Leitfadens für neue Einwohner in...

Sie vertrauen uns

AXA Versicherungen Luxemburg
Raiffeisen Luxemburg
Königskind