Information on schools and education

Education and higher education Luxembourg

Are you an expat or future expat in Luxembourg? Would you like to find out more about the education systems available in Luxembourg to enroll your children? Are you an expat's spouse interested in adult education?

Here are some key facts about education in Luxembourg to help you prepare for your expatriation and that of your children.

Luxembourg has a highly-developed education system adapted to its multicultural population. 

Teaching is compulsory and structured by age

First of all, education is compulsory for children aged 4 to 16 in Luxembourg. For children born on or after September 1, 2009, compulsory schooling is now extended to age 18. Pupils who have obtained a school-leaving certificate before the age of 18 are considered to have fulfilled this obligation.

Luxembourg's education system is divided into three main stages:primary or basic education up to the age of 12,secondary education (lycée) from the age of 12 to 19, andhigher education beyond that.

The school is open to all and free to the public

In Luxembourg, public schooling is free and open to all, from elementary school through to high school. The Luxembourg government finances education for its population.

Luxembourg invests in its youth and education to give young people every opportunity to integrate into society, including children from immigrant families. Pupils and students attending state schools pay no tuition fees.

Luxembourg universities charge tuition fees. However, under certain conditions, students may be eligible for a grant from the following state body: mengstudien.public. lu, making tuition fees de facto zero.

Luxembourg education is multilingual

Luxembourg is a multilingual country. This is reflected in its education system. The official languages of instruction are Luxembourgish, French and German. In addition, English is taught as a foreign language in most lycées from the second year of secondary school. The educational system is a real plus in terms of language learning.

Whatever their origin or nationality, children have the chance to learn several languages very quickly and become multilingual .

Education for expatriates

Luxembourg is home to many expatriates. The education system is designed to meet the needs of all residents, including non-Luxembourgers. Every effort is made to give foreign children the best possible welcome, with appropriate tutoring and guidance.

Newly-arrived pupils in Luxembourg can therefore integrate as effectively as possible into the school system of their country of origin, or into a different school system. Luxembourg offers a wide range of educational options, with several school systems: Luxembourgish, French, British, European and international.

Newcomers to Luxembourg can benefit from a rather attractive to facilitate their integration.

Education levels are high in Luxembourg

Luxembourg has a high standard of education. Schools are well equipped and teachers are well qualified. On a global level, Luxembourg also invests heavily in research and development, leading to the development of a thriving research community.

Higher education is booming

Luxembourg is home to a number ofhigher education establishments, including the University of Luxembourg . Created relatively recently, the University now offers a wide range of undergraduate and graduate programs. The country is also home to a number of research institutions, including the Institut luxembourgeois des sciences et de la technologie.

Luxembourg also offers attractive scholarships to young people pursuing higher education in Luxembourg or abroad.

Continuing vocational training in Luxembourg

Vocational training is highly developed in Luxembourg. Adults looking for training or retraining can choose from a wide range of courses, all at reasonable cost.

Whether it's language training or training in specific fields, newcomers or long-standing residents are sure to find what they're looking for in our range ofcontinuing education courses.

You can also find master's degree offers, particularly in management, to enhance your curriculum vitae and skills.

Find out about education: public bodies

Maison de l'Orientation for school and career guidance

The Maison de l'orientation is a one-stop shop bringing together at a single address all the administrations and services that help young people to find their bearings in school, student and professional life in the Grand Duchy.

By identifying their interests and helping them to assess their abilities and skills, the Maison de l'Orientation enables them to find out about vocational training courses that match their profile, and thus to provide concrete support in their orientation and job search process.

More information on the Maison de l'Orientation

Mengshoul, platform for secondary and higher education

Mengshoul.lu is an interactive web platform that enables future secondary school pupils and students to easily find the establishments to pursue their secondary or higher education, or the vocational training corresponding to their profile and expectations.

Mengshoul.lu was created on the initiative of the Ministry of National Education, Children and Youth.

The platform lists all Luxembourg and international secondary schools. An interactive map with a filter system enables you to quickly select the secondary school best suited to your needs, and to locate it within Luxembourg.

A detailed portrait is provided for each selected school: profile of the school, partners and associations, life and culture at the school, activities and support offered, student orientation. The fact sheet makes it easier for parents and students to choose their future school.

Visit the Ecole.orientalion.lu platform

More information onsecondary education and higher education in Luxembourg

Ministry of Education, Children and Youth

The Ministère de l'Éducation Nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse is responsible for the education system in Luxembourg, as well as for all information concerning the care of children and young people. School attendance is compulsory in Luxembourg from age 4 to 16.

On the website of the Ministry of Education, Children and Youth , you'll find detailed explanations of the Luxembourg school system and how to enroll your child in school. You can also find inter-cultural mediators, if necessary, and all the information you need on child and youth care in Luxembourg.

Find out more about educational support for foreign children arriving in Luxembourg

More information on education, teaching and schools in Luxembourg.

Our events Education - Higher education


Our latest articles Education - Higher education


Apply for a summer job Luxembourg

Are you aged between 15 and 27, studying in Luxembourg or abroad? In Luxembourg, you can apply...

High school open house Luxembourg

Thinking about the start of the new school year and our children's future direction is stressful. And like all parents,...

Why do an MBA in Luxembourg?

How can I advance my professional career? You want to advance your professional career but don't know how...

They trust us

AXA assurances Luxembourg
Raiffeisen Luxembourg
Child king

Informationen über Schulen und Unterricht

Bildung und Hochschulbildung Luxemburg

Sie sind Expat oder zukünftiger Expat in Luxemburg? Möchten Sie mehr über die in Luxemburg verfügbaren Bildungssysteme erfahren, um Ihre Kinder dort anzumelden? Sie sind Ehepartner eines Expats und interessieren sich selbst für Erwachsenenbildung?

Hier sind einige Schlüsselelemente, die Sie über das Bildungswesen in Luxemburg wissen sollten, um sich auf Ihre Auswanderung und die Ihrer Kinder vorzubereiten.

Es ist wichtig zu wissen, dass Luxemburg über ein hoch entwickeltes Bildungssystem verfügt, das auf die multikulturelle Bevölkerung zugeschnitten ist. 

Der Unterricht ist obligatorisch und nach Altersstufen gegliedert

Zunächst einmal besteht in Luxemburg für Kinder zwischen 4 und 16 Jahren Schulpflicht. Es wird sogar diskutiert, die Schulpflicht in den nächsten Jahren bis zum Alter von 18 Jahren einzuführen, um Schulabbrechern entgegenzuwirken.

Das luxemburgische Bildungssystem ist in drei große Stufen gegliedert: diePrimar- oder Grundschulbildung bis zum Alter von 12 Jahren, dieSekundarbildung, die dem Gymnasium von 12 bis 19 Jahren entspricht, und dieHochschulbildung darüber hinaus.

Die Schule steht allen offen und ist in der Öffentlichkeit kostenlos.

In Luxemburg ist der Besuch einer öffentlichen Schule kostenlos und wird allen von der Grundschule bis zum Gymnasium angeboten . Die luxemburgische Regierung finanziert die Bildung ihrer Bevölkerung.

Luxemburg investiert in der Tat in seine Jugend und Bildung, um jungen Menschen alle Chancen zu geben, sich in die Gesellschaft zu integrieren , auch Kindern mit Migrationshintergrund. Schüler und Studenten, die öffentliche Schulen besuchen, zahlen keine Schulgebühren.

Die luxemburgischen Universitäten sind kostenpflichtig. Unter bestimmten Bedingungen können Schüler jedoch ein Stipendium von der folgenden staatlichen Stelle erhalten: mengstudien.public.lu , wodurch die Studiengebühren de facto null sind.

Das luxemburgische Bildungswesen ist mehrsprachig

Luxemburg ist ein mehrsprachiges Land. Dies spiegelt sich in seinem Bildungssystem wider. Die offiziellen Unterrichtssprachen sind Luxemburgisch, Französisch und Deutsch. Darüber hinaus wird in den meisten Gymnasien ab der zweiten Klasse der Sekundarstufe Englisch als Fremdsprache unterrichtet. Das Bildungsangebot bietet ein echtes Plus beim Sprachenlernen.

Unabhängig von ihrer Herkunft oder Nationalität haben Kinder die Chance, sehr schnell mehrere Sprachen zu lernen und mehrsprachig zu werden .

Bildung für Auswanderer

Luxemburg beherbergt viele im Ausland lebende Personen. Das Bildungssystem ist so konzipiert, dass es den Bedürfnissen aller seiner Einwohner, einschließlich der Nicht-Luxemburger, gerecht wird. Es wird alles getan, um ausländische Kinder bestmöglich aufzunehmen, mit angepasster Nachhilfe und Unterstützung bei der Orientierung.

Schüler, die neu nach Luxemburg kommen, können so am besten in ihr eigenes Schulsystem oder ansonsten in ein anderes Schulsystem integriert werden. Luxemburg bietet ein breites Schulangebot mit verschiedenen Schulsystemen: das luxemburgische oder französische, das britische, das europäische und das internationale Schulsystem.

Neuankömmlinge in Luxemburg können von einem recht attraktiven Rahmenbedingungen, um ihre Integration zu erleichtern.

Das Bildungsniveau in Luxemburg ist hoch

Luxemburg hat ein hohes Bildungsniveau. Die Schulen sind gut ausgestattet und die Lehrkräfte sind qualifiziert. Auf globaler Ebene investiert Luxemburg außerdem viel in Forschung und Entwicklung, was zur Entwicklung einer blühenden Forschergemeinschaft führt.

Die Hochschulbildung entwickelt sich rasant

In Luxemburg gibt es eine Reihe vonHochschuleinrichtungen, darunter die Universität Luxemburg. Die Uni wurde erst vor relativ kurzer Zeit gegründet und bietet heute eine breite Palette an Undergraduate- und Graduate-Programmen an. Das Land beherbergt auch eine Reihe von Forschungseinrichtungen, darunter das Institut luxembourgeois des sciences et de la technologie.

Um die höhere Bildung seiner Bevölkerung zu fördern, erhalten junge Menschen, die in Luxemburg oder im Ausland ein Hochschulstudium absolvieren, außerdem attraktive Stipendien.

Berufliche Weiterbildung in Luxemburg

Die Berufsbildung ist in Luxemburg sehr gut entwickelt. Erwachsene, die sich weiterbilden oder umschulen wollen, finden eine sehr breite Palette an Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten zu recht günstigen Kosten.

Ob Sprachkurse oder Kurse in ganz bestimmten Bereichen - sowohl Neuankömmlinge als auch schon länger hier lebende Menschen sollten imWeiterbildungsangebot fündig werden.

Es gibt auch Angebote für Masterstudiengänge, insbesondere im Bereich Management , um den Lebenslauf und die Kompetenzen zu erweitern.

Sich über Bildung informieren: öffentliche Einrichtungen

Maison de l'Orientation für das Schul- oder Berufsleben

Das Haus der Orientierung ist eine zentrale Anlaufstelle, die unter einer Adresse alle Behörden und Dienste vereint, die jungen Menschen helfen, sich im Schul-, Studien- und Berufsleben im Großherzogtum zu orientieren.

Indem das Maison de l'Orientation ihre Interessensgebiete ermittelt und ihnen bei ihren Fähigkeiten und Kompetenzen hilft, können sie sich über Berufsausbildungen informieren, die ihrem Profil entsprechen, und sie somit konkret bei der Berufsorientierung und der Arbeitssuche unterstützen.

Weitere Informationen über das Maison de l'Orientation

Mengshoul, Plattform für Sekundar- und Hochschulbildung

Mengshoul.lu ist eine interaktive Webplattform, die es zukünftigen Schülern und Studenten ermöglicht, auf einfache Weise Schulen zu finden, in denen sie ihre Sekundar- oder Hochschulausbildung fortsetzen können, oder eine Berufsausbildung, die ihrem Profil und ihren Erwartungen entspricht.

Mengshoul.lu wurde auf Initiative des Ministeriums für Bildung, Kinder und Jugend gegründet.

Die Plattform listet alle luxemburgischen oder internationalen Sekundarschulen auf. Eine interaktive Karte mit einem Filtersystem ermöglicht die schnelle Auswahl der passenden Sekundarschule nach den eigenen Wünschen und zeigt deren Standort innerhalb Luxemburgs an.

Für jede ausgewählte Schule wird ein ausführliches Porträt angeboten: Profil der Schule, Partner und Vereine, Leben und Kultur in der Schule, angebotene Aktivitäten und Betreuungsangebote, Orientierung der Schüler. Die Karteikarte ermöglicht Eltern und Schülern konkret eine leichtere Orientierung bei der Wahl ihrer zukünftigen Schule.

Besuchen Sie die Plattform Ecole.orientalion.lu

Weitere Informationen über dieSekundarstufe und das Hochschulstudium in Luxemburg

Ministerium für Bildung, Kinder und Jugend

Das Ministerium für Bildung, Kinder und Jugend ist für das Bildungssystem in Luxemburg sowie für alle Informationen über die Kinder- und Jugendbetreuung zuständig. In Luxemburg besteht von 4 bis 16 Jahren Schulpflicht.

Auf der Website des Ministère de l'Education nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse finden Sie alle detaillierten Erklärungen zum luxemburgischen Schulsystem oder zur Anmeldung Ihres Kindes in der Schule . Dort finden Sie bei Bedarf auch interkulturelle Mediatoren sowie alle Informationen über die Betreuung von Kindern und Jugendlichen in Luxemburg.

Mehr über die Schulbegleitung für ausländische Kinder, die in Luxemburg ankommen

Weitere Informationen über Bildung, Ausbildung und Schulen in Luxemburg.

Unsere neuesten Artikel Bildung - Hochschulbildung


Tag der offenen Tür an Gymnasien Luxemburg

Der Gedanke an den nächsten Schulbeginn und die Berufsorientierung unserer Kinder stresst uns schon im Voraus. Und wie alle Eltern

Bewerben Sie sich für einen Sommerjob Luxemburg

Sie sind zwischen 15 und 27 Jahre alt und studieren in Luxemburg oder im Ausland? In Luxemburg können Sie sich bewerben...

Warum einen MBA in Luxemburg machen

Wie kann ich meine berufliche Karriere voranbringen? Sie möchten Ihre berufliche Laufbahn voranbringen, wissen aber nicht, wie Sie...

Sie vertrauen uns

AXA Versicherungen Luxemburg
Raiffeisen Luxemburg
Königskind