Accommodation for students and trainees

Finding student accommodation in Luxembourg

Are you going to continue your studies in Luxembourg, or have you had the opportunity to secure an internship with a European institution or a company in Luxembourg? Congratulations! All that remains is to find accommodation for the duration of your internship or studies.

University residences in Luxembourg

Housing reserved for UNI students

University residences offer accommodation reserved for students enrolled at the University of Luxembourg.

To qualify for accommodation, students must be enrolled in a full-time Bachelor's, Master's or PhD program. Students enrolled for a semester at the University of Luxembourg as part of an exchange program or as a "free mover" can also apply for accommodation.

UNI halls of residence

Uni has over thirty residences located throughout the country, close to university campuses. More than 1,000 residences are available to students.

Accommodation is very varied. A student can rent a furnished 15 m2 room with shared or private kitchen and bathroom facilities for a small fee. A single student can also rent a self-contained studio of 24 m2, while a couple can rent accommodation of up to 35 m2.

The university residences offer a cleaning service for common areas. A vacuum cleaner is also available for students.

University residence rates and conditions

The University of Luxembourg offers lease contracts of 5 to 7 months. Lease extensions are possible in the event of re-registration at the Uni. However, the maximum stay cannot exceed the duration of your studies.

Given the shortage of university accommodation and the high demand (6,700 students at Uni), the maximum rental period is limited to the normal duration of studies:

  • 36 months for a bachelor's degree
  • 24 months for a master's degree
  • 24 months' rental for a doctorate, even if the duration of studies for a doctoral student is 48 months.

The rates are very attractive, and the apartments are furnished. Prices range from €400 to over €1,000 per month. Rents include utilities such as water, electricity, gas, heating and internet.

Student tenants are required to pay a deposit before moving in ,as is the case for all rental accommodation. This is equivalent to one month's rent and must be paid by bank transfer. A security deposit is also required. This is 350€ for rooms and 500€ for studios.

It is compulsory to take out home insurance with a licensed insurance company in Luxembourg. The University of Luxembourg offers a multi-risk home insurance policy. This is taken out for a period of one year, from September to September. It covers various risks such as fire, water damage, glass breakage and personal liability. Students can subscribe directly online, on the Allia.lu website.

You can apply for university accommodation online, directly on the Université de Luxembourg website. However, the application is only definitive once the student has paid the deposit. Accommodation is allocated by the Service des études et de la vie étudiante (SEVE) on the basis of the applicant's file.

Accommodation for students and trainees in Luxembourg

Not lucky enough to have university accommodation? Finding temporary accommodation for students or trainees can be complicated. Adverts posted on social networks can sometimes be malicious, so keep a close eye on them.

Don't hesitate to use your network. Short-term accommodation offers can be found by word of mouth. Not all offers are necessarily externalized.

Student accommodation is dedicated to young people wishing to live temporarily in Luxembourg, as part of their school or university studies , or as part of a summer job.

Some student residences are reserved for trainees of all nationalities. Furnished and adapted to student life, these accommodations are relatively rare in Luxembourg, and prices vary widely from one residence to another.

Created in 2005, "Wunnraum Fir Stagiairen" is a reception and accommodation service for trainees of all nationalities. The Asbl has four residences and houses across Luxembourg, ranging from 2 to 17 rooms. Each room is furnished and has internet access. Prices vary according to location, but are much more attractive than a standard furnished rental, at between 400 and 750 euros.

To take advantage of a room in the reception and accommodation service houses, the trainee must provide a file including :

More information on wfs.lu.

Find out more about housing in Luxembourg

What do I need to know about studying in Luxembourg?

 

Our latest articles Education - Higher education


Apply for a summer job Luxembourg

Are you aged between 15 and 27, studying in Luxembourg or abroad? In Luxembourg, you can apply...

High school open house Luxembourg

Thinking about the start of the new school year and our children's future direction is stressful. And like all parents,...

Why do an MBA in Luxembourg?

How can I advance my professional career? You want to advance your professional career but don't know how...

They trust us

AXA assurances Luxembourg
Raiffeisen Luxembourg
Child king

Le logement pour étudiants et stagiaires

Trouver un logement étudiant au Luxembourg

Vous allez poursuivre vos études au Luxembourg ou avez eu l’opportunité de décrocher un stage dans les institutions européennes ou une entreprise au Luxembourg ? Félicitations ! Reste à trouver un logement pour la durée de votre stage ou de vos études.

Résidences universitaires au Luxembourg

Logements réservés pour les étudiants de l’UNI

Les résidences universitaires proposent des logements réservés aux étudiants inscrits à l’Université du Luxembourg.

Pour bénéficier d’un tel logement, l’étudiant doit y suivre une formation à temps plein en bachelor, en master ou en doctorat. Les étudiants inscrits pour un semestre à l’Université du Luxembourg dans le cadre d’un échange ou en tant que « free mover » peuvent également faire une demande de logement.

Résidences universitaires de l’UNI

L’Uni dispose de plus de trente résidences situées dans tout le pays, à proximité des campus universitaires. Elle met plus de 1.000 logements à la disposition de ses étudiants.

Les logements sont très variés. Un étudiant peut bénéficier d’une chambre meublée de 15 m2 avec cuisine et sanitaires partagés ou privatifs pour un tarif moindre. Un étudiant seul peut également louer un studio indépendant de 24 m2,  un couple peut disposer d’un logement jusqu’à 35 m2.

Les résidences universitaires profitent d’un service de ménage des parties communes. Un aspirateur est par ailleurs mis à disposition des étudiants

Tarifs et conditions des résidences universitaires

L’Université du Luxembourg propose des contrats de bail de 5 à 7 mois. La prolongation du bail est possible en cas de réinscription à l’Uni. Le séjour maximum ne peut toutefois pas dépasser la durée des études.

Devant la pénurie de logements universitaires et la forte demande (6.700 étudiants à l’Uni), la durée de location maximale est limitée à la durée normale des études :

  • 36 mois pour un bachelor
  • 24 mois pour un master
  • 24 mois de location pour un doctorat, même si la durée des études pour un doctorant est de 48 mois.

Les tarifs sont très intéressants et les logements meublés. Les prix varient entre 400€ et plus de 1.000€ par mois. Les loyers comprennent les différentes charges, à savoir l’eau, l’électricité, le gaz, le chauffage et internet.

Le locataire étudiant doit verser une caution avant l’emménagement, comme pour toute location de logement. Celle-ci correspond à un mois de loyer et doit être payée par virement bancaire. Par ailleurs, un dépôt de garantie doit être versé. Il est de 350€ pour les chambres et de 500€ pour les studios

La souscription à une assurance habitation est obligatoire, auprès d’une compagnie d’assurance agréée au Luxembourg. L’Université du Luxembourg propose une assurance habitation multirisques. Celle-ci est souscrite pour une période d’un an, de septembre à septembre. Elle couvre différents risques tels que les incendies, dégâts des eaux, bris de glace ou encore la responsabilité civile vie privée. Les étudiants peuvent y souscrire directement en ligne, sur le site Allia.lu.

La demande de logement universitaire peut se faire en ligne, directement sur le site de l’Université de Luxembourg. La demande n’est cependant définitive qu’après versement de la caution par l’étudiant. L’attribution des logements se fait en fonction du dossier du demandeur par le Service des études et de la vie étudiante (SEVE).

Logements pour étudiants et stagiaires au Luxembourg

Vous n’avez pas la chance de bénéficier d’un logement universitaire ? La recherche d’un logement temporaire pour étudiant ou stagiaire peut être compliquée. Les annonces postées sur les réseaux sociaux peuvent être parfois malveillantes et il convient de garder un oeil attentif.

N’hésitez pas à faire marcher votre réseau. On peut trouver des propositions de logements courte durée par bouche-à-oreilles. Toutes les offres en sont pas forcément extériorisées.

Les logements étudiants sont dédiés à un public jeune souhaitant résider temporairement au Luxembourg, dans le cadre d’un cursus scolaire ou universitaire ou d’un job d’été.

Certains logements étudiants sont réservés aux stagiaires, de toutes nationalités confondues. Meublés et adaptés à la vie estudiantine, ces logements sont relativement rares au Luxembourg et leur prix varie fortement d’une résidence à l’autre.

Créé en 2005, « Wunnraum Fir Stagiairen » est un service d’accueil et de logement destiné aux stagiaires de toutes nationalités. L’Asbl dispose de quatre résidences et maisons à travers Luxembourg, comprenant de 2 à 17 chambres. Chaque chambre est meublée et dispose d’un accès internet. Les prix varient selon l’emplacement mais sont bien plus intéressants qu’une location meublée classique, entre 400 et 750 euros.

Pour profiter d’une chambre au sein des maisons du service d’accueil et de logement, le stagiaire doit fournir un dossier comprenant :

Plus d’informations sur le site wfs.lu. 

En savoir plus sur le logement au Luxembourg

Que faut-il savoir pour faire des études supérieures au Luxembourg ?

 

Nos événements Education - Enseignement supérieur


Nos derniers articles Education - Enseignement supérieur


Postuler à un job d'été Luxembourg

Vous avez entre 15 et 27 ans, vous étudiez au Luxembourg ou à l’étranger ? Au Luxembourg, vous pouvez postuler...

Portes ouvertes lycées Luxembourg

Penser à la prochaine rentrée scolaire et à l’orientation de nos enfants nous stresse à l’avance. Et comme tout parent,...

Pourquoi faire un MBA au Luxembourg

Comment faire progresser ma carrière professionnelle ? Vous voulez faire progresser votre carrière professionnelle mais vous ne savez pas comment...

Ils nous font confiance

AXA assurances Luxembourg
Raiffeisen Luxembourg
Enfant roi