Schueberfouer biggest fun fair Luxembourg

The Schueberfouer is THE great fair of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. It usually runs from the last week of August (St. Bartholomew) to mid-September.

Originally authorized by Jean l’Aveugle, Count of Luxembourg, in 1340, this fair was allowed to promote economically Luxembourg, ideally located between Flanders and Italy, highly developed trade actors at the time. During the period of the fair, merchants were fully protected and allowed to trade. If the cattle trade developed later, it was with the industrial era that the first attractions appeared.

From its purely commercial origin, the Schueberfouer has evolved into the biggest fair in the Greater Region and attracts 2 million visitors each year to the Glacis, in the Limperstberg district in Luxembourg.

Traditionally, the “Fouer” is announced in the streets of the city by a parade of musicians performing the “Hämmelsmarsch” (sheep market). A sheep “Lämmy” is also the mascot of the Schueberfouer. You can buy Lämmy plusch on the spot or find it on the different items sold at the fair.

Every year, there are more than 260 attractions for young and old, including the traditional Big wheel and other thrilling rides, confectionery stalls and stalls of local specialties such as Fouerfësch, whiting cooked in the brewer’s yeast, specific food of the Schueberfouer. Every year, new rides delight visitors and families who return there each year.

Allée Scheffer welcomes a number of small shops that will sell you all sorts of things.

A mobile application “Schueberfouer” can be downloaded on the site fouer.lu and will enable you to locate easily refreshments and snacks, drinking water stations or toilets. You will also be informed of special days and the agenda on the duration of the event. 

The Schueberfouer is a must event of life in Luxembourg! Do not miss this great fair in Luxembourg: see Schueberfouer, for more information!

Visit Luxembourg City and the Grand Duchy on weekends and during holidays? Click here.

Going out and having fun with children in Luxembourg

Categorie(s):   Recreation park

  • Champ du Glacis
    2520 Luxembourg-Limpertsberg

     

     

     

    RSS
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Google+
    LINKEDIN

Schueberfouer fête foraine Luxembourg

La Schueberfouer est LA grande fête foraine du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. Elle se déroule généralement de la dernière semaine d’août (de la Saint Barthélémy) à la mi-septembre.

Autorisée à l’origine par Jean l’Aveugle, Comte de Luxembourg, en 1340, cette foire marchande permettait de promouvoir économiquement le Luxembourg, idéalement situé entre les Flandres et l’Italie, acteurs de commerce très développés à l’époque. Durant la période de la foire, les marchands bénéficiaient d’une protection totale et était autorisés à commercer. Si le commerce du bétail s’est développé plus tard, c’est avec l’ère industrielle que sont apparues les premières attractions.

De son origine purement commerciale, la Schueberfouer a évolué vers la plus grande fête foraine de la Grande Région et attire chaque année 2 millions de visiteurs sur le Glacis, quartier du Limperstberg à Luxembourg.

Traditionnellement, la « Fouer » est annoncée dans les rues de la ville par une parade de musiciens interprétant la « Hämmelsmarsch » (marche des moutons). Un mouton « Lämmy » est d’ailleurs la mascotte de la Schueberfouer. Vous pourrez l’acheter sur place en peluche ou le trouver sur les différents objets vendus lors la foire.

On y retrouve chaque année plus de 260 attractions pour les petits et les grands, dont la traditionnelle Grande Roue et autres manèges à sensations fortes, des stands de confiserie et échoppes de spécialités locales comme le Fouerfësch, merlan cuit dans la levure de bière et spécifique de la Schueberfouer. Chaque année de nouveaux manèges réjouissent les visiteurs et les familles qui reviennent chaque année.

L’Allée Scheffer accueille quant à elle de multiples camelots ou petites échoppes qui vous vendront toutes sortes de choses.

Une application mobile « Schueberfouer » peut être téléchargée sur le site fouer.lu et vous permettra de localiser facilement les buvettes et snacks, les stations d’eau potable ou les toilettes. Vous serez ainsi également informés des journées spéciales et de l’agenda sur la durée de l’évènement.

La Schueberfouer est un évènement incontournable de la vie au Luxembourg ! Ne ratez pas cette grande fête foraine de Luxembourg : voir Schueberfouer, pour plus d’informations !

Visiter Luxembourg-Ville et le Grand-Duché les week-ends et pendant les vacances ? Cliquez ici.

Comment distraire vos enfants et passer un bon moment en famille au Luxembourg ?

Catégorie(s) :  Parc loisirs

  • Champ du Glacis
    2520 Luxembourg-Limpertsberg