Luxembourg City Museum

Located in the heart of the city of Luxembourg, the Lëtzebuerg City Museum is a perfect union between old and new architecture. It tells the visitor the history of the City of Luxembourg through permanent exhibitions “The Luxembourg Story – more than 1000 years of urban history “or temporary.

1000 years of Luxembourg’s urban history

3 levels are dedicated to the history of the City of Luxembourg since the 10th century. We find here the history of the foundation of the city and its evolution through the centuries thanks to a collection of objects of all kinds, documentaries videos or photos, interactive multimedia applications. Discover the urban, social and economic aspects of the capital of Luxembourg through ages.

The visitor also discovers a 3D model and an interactive table to become familiar with the urban issues of a multi-level city between the Lower Town (Grund, Clausen, Pfaffenthal), the Upper Town and the Plateau.

Temporary exhibitions

Regularly temporary exhibitions are presented to the public in order to focus on a particular aspect of the history of the City.

Note the exhibition “Leit an der Stad” which retraces the daily life of the city of Luxembourg through a collection of 200 photos from the years 1950 to 2017. The exhibition is planned until March 31, 2019.

Virtual tours

Virtual tours are also offered by the City Museum:

  • “Mapping Luxembourg” allows you to compare the historical and current plans of the City of Luxembourg
  • Visit the museum in 3D, to visit the permanent or temporary exhibitions of the museum without leaving your chair!

The museum also offers regular guided family tours on specific themes, as well as the opportunity to celebrate your child’s birthday at the museum with friends.

Tue.-Sun., 10 am-6 pm
Thu., 10 am-8 pm

More information in cultural centres and museums in Luxembourg

Do you want to visit Luxembourg and Grand Duchy?

Categorie(s):   Birthday parties Museum

  • +352 47 96 45 00

 

RSS
Facebook
Twitter
Google+
LINKEDIN
logo-casino-luxembourg- forum art contemporain

Lëtzebuerg City Museum

Situé au cœur de la ville de Luxembourg, union parfaite entre architecture ancienne et moderne, le Lëtzebuerg City Museum ou Musée d’Histoire de Luxembourg raconte au visiteur l’histoire de la Ville de Luxembourg au travers d’expositions permanentes dont « The Luxembourg Story – plus de 1000 ans d’histoire urbaine » ou temporaires.

1000 ans d’histoire urbaine de Luxembourg

3 niveaux sont dédiés à l’histoire de la Ville de Luxembourg depuis le 10ème siècle. On retrouve ici l’histoire de la fondation de la ville et de son évolution au travers des siècles grâce à une collection d’objets de toutes sortes, de documentaires videos ou photos, d’applications multimédias interactives : évolution urbanistique, sociale, économique et politique de la capitale du Luxembourg.

Le visiteur découvre également une maquette 3D et une table interactive pour se familiariser avec les problématiques urbanistiques d’une ville à plusieurs niveaux entre la Ville-Basse (quartiers du Grund, Clausen, Pfaffenthal), la Ville-Haute et le Plateau.

Expositions temporaires

Régulièrement des expositions temporaires sont présentées au public afin de mettre l’accent sur un aspect particulier de l’histoire de la Ville.

On notera l’exposition « Leit an der Stad » qui retrace le quotidien de la ville de Luxembourg au travers d’une collection de 200 photos des années 1950 à 2017. L’exposition est prévue jusqu’au 31 mars 2019.

Visites virtuelles

Des visites virtuelles sont également proposées par le City Museum :

  • « Mapping Luxembourg »permet de comparer les plans historiques et actuels de la Ville de Luxembourg
  • Visites du musée en 3D, pour visiter les expositions permanentes ou temporaires du musée sans quitter votre fauteuil !

Le musée propose également régulièrement des visites guidées en famille sur des thèmes précis, ainsi que la possibilité de fêter l’anniversaire de votre enfant au musée avec ses amis.

Pour en savoir plus sur les centres culturels et les musées.

Vous voulez visiter Luxembourg-Ville et le Grand-Duché ?

 

Catégorie(s) :  Anniversaire enfant Musées

  • +352 47 96 45 00

 

RSS
Facebook
Twitter
Google+
LINKEDIN
logo-casino-luxembourg- forum art contemporainlogo-mudam- Musée d'art moderne Luxembourg