Vianden Castle

Built from the 5th century on a rocky outcrop overlooking the Our Valley, it is from the 11th century until the 14th century that the Château de Vianden acquired its present form. Located in the Luxembourg Ardennes, the Château de Vianden appears as a majestic castle-palace of the medieval era with many defense systems (ramparts, drawbridge, portcullis, …).

It hosts more than 200,000 visitors annually and is one of the most visited sites in Luxembourg.

Each year in August, its medieval festival recreates the folkloric atmosphere of the time with jugglers, fire eaters, musicians, knights fights, medieval cuisine, …

Vianden Castle was the residence of the Counts of Vianden and was acquired by inheritance by the family of Nassa. It remained the property of the Grand Ducal family of Luxembourg until 1977 when it was ceded to the Luxembourg state who undertook its restoration. An application for candidacy was submitted in 2012 to UNESCO for an inscription in the patrimony. world. The Chaêtau de Vianden has been recognized as a remarkable cultural element, deserving conservation and protection.

The visiting tours are very interesting and last from 1 to 2 hours with an audio guide system. Several parts to visit: Grand Palace, Small Palace, Chapel, Knights Halls, …

An information center with a permanent exhibition is at your disposal in the barnyard. A lot of information through 10 didactic stations that will take you to the walkway. There is also a gift shop and catering, as well as a youth hostel in Vianden.

Open every day from 10am. Closing times according to the season.

One suggestion: take a stroll in the village  ofVianden and if you are not dizzy, take the chairlift.

Do you want to visit Luxembourg City or the Grand Duchy? Click here. The Castle is located a few kilometers from the hiking trails of Our Naturpark.

If you like visiting castles with your family, dont’t miss the 7 Castles Valley and the Clervaux Castle.

Visiting Luxembourg City and the Grand-Duchy

Categorie(s):   Recreation park Visits Grand Duchy

  • Vianden

  • +352 83 41 08-1

Château de Vianden

Construit à partir du 5ème siècle sur un éperon rocheux surplombant la Vallée de l’Our, c’est à partir du 11ème siècle jusqu’au 14ème siècle que le Château de Vianden acquit sa forme actuelle. Situé dans les Ardennes luxembourgeoises, le Château de Vianden apparait comme un majestueux château-palais de l’époque médiévale avec de nombreux systèmes de défense (remparts, pont-levis, herse,…).

Il accueille annuellement plus de 200.000 visiteurs et fait partie des sites les plus visités du Luxembourg. 

Chaque année en août, son festival médiéval reconstitue l’ambiance folklorique de l’époque avec des jongleurs, des cracheurs de feu, des musiciens, des combats de chevaliers, de la cuisine médiévale,…

Le Château de Vianden fut la résidence des comtes de Vianden puis fut acquis par héritage par la famille de Nassa. Il resta la propriété de la famille Grand-ducale du Luxembourg jusqu’en 1977 où il fut cédé à l’état luxembourgeois qui en entrepris sa restauration. Une demande de candidature a été introduite en 2012 auprès de l’Unesco pour une inscription au patrimoine mondial. Le Chaêtau de Vianden a été reconnu comme élément culturel remarquable, méritant conservation et protection.

Les visites sont très intéressantes et durent de 1 à 2 heures avec un système d’audio-guide. Plusieurs parties à visiter, Grand Palais, Petit Palais, Chapelle, Salles de Chevaliers.

Un centre d’information avec une exposition permanente est à votre disposition dans la basse-cour. Beaucoup d’informations au travers de 10 stations didactiques qui vous mèneront jusqu’au chemin de ronde. Vous y trouverez également une boutique souvenirs et de la restauration, ainsi qu’une auberge de jeunesse à Vianden.

Ouvert tous les jours à partir de 10h. Horaires de fermeture selon la saison.

Une suggestion : promenez-vous dans Vianden et si vous n’avez pas le vertige, prenez le télésiège.

Vous voulez visiter Luxembourg-Ville ou le Grand-Duché ? Cliquez ici. Le Château se situe à quelques kilomètres des chemins de randonnée du Naturpark de l’Our. 

Quelles activités et sorties à faire en famille au Luxembourg ?

Catégorie(s) :  Parc loisirs Tourisme Grand-Duché

  • Vianden

  • +352 83 41 08-1

 

RSS
Facebook
Twitter
Google+
LINKEDIN