Historical fortress, symbol of the history of Luxembourg, the Thüngen Fort dates from 1732 and is known as “Dräi Eechelen” (Three Acorns) due to the particular shape of its acorn-shaped towers. Significant development work has been undertaken in recent years. What is left of the Fort Thüngen, known under the name “Dräi Eechelen” (three acorns) has undergone some serious renovation over the past few years. Partially knocked down in 1867, the remains of the fort have been updated, restored and rebuilt to house the Dräi Eechelen museum.
Through some 600 objects of art and history, the history of the Thungen fortress and its impact on the national history of Luxembourg is shown on the ground floor in the casemates, which also offer a bank of data in the context of an interactive space.We will discover all the history of Luxembourg from the Middle Ages to the 20th century through the architecture of the Fort, its underground galleries and mines. access to another fort below, that of Obergrunewald.
The first bunker, information base of Circuit Vauban, hosts a shop and a cafeteria.
The first floor consists of an auditorium and a temporary exhibition space. The projection of the film “Luxembourg 4D” makes it possible to better know the history of Luxembourg in the 20th century.
Take the opportunity to stroll through the landscaped garden of the surrounding “Parc des Trois Glands“.
Mon, Thu, Fri, Sat and Sun, 10 am-6pm
Wed, 10 am-8pm
Closed on Tuesday
5, Park Draï Eechelen
1499 Luxembourg Kirchberg
- +352 26 43 35